Amazing Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This worked out well... I tweaked it a little, using a LARGE squash, half the onion, less mayo (I did not use hellmans and would definitely try that next time as I am not a big fan of other mayo), added some butter (1-2TBS) to make up for the mayo, and eyeballed the brown sugar (probably added more than called for). Since I put butter in the squash I just left it out of the topping. This was pretty easy and my husband ate about half the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
very good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I can't say this was great but I'm not having any trouble eating the whole batch (my husband doesn't eat squash). I did make a few modifications that might help others - I used 2 squash, 2 egg whites (vs. 1 whole egg), a little less mayo and probably twice the topping (seemed necessary for coverage in an 8x8 pan). I thought the mayo/egg/onion mix would be too dominant with just the one squash I was planning on using and that might be what some folks are finding objectionable (not enough squash to balance the other flavors). Then again it might also be helpful for someone to quantify the actual amount of squash this recipe needs ( x cups mashed etc.) I'm not sure what the brown sugar does for the recipe - I'll probably try it without next time. If you are generally a squash person this recipe will probably be fine for you - sort of half way between sweet and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
We loved this it was soooo good and didn't find it sweet at all as others commented. It will definately be on our holiday table from now on!!!! Thanks for such a scrumptious side dish:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnnabonna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
This meal was sooooo good. I use shallots and soy mayo. Wow this is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
This was alright as a side dish. Wasn't a big fan of the mayo in it...I think for something savoury, rather than sweet I'd leave it out, add sour cream as another reviewer suggested as well as some sage or other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
This was very good. Had to modify slightly because I did not have enough squash on hand or mayo. Took another reveiewers suggestion and added light sour cream. I was afraid my fiance, who does not like onions, would think it was too onion-y but he ate it up. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Delicious.. I didn't change a thing and it came out great, I've made this more than once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisporte, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Stephenville, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Because I decided on Acorn Squash for this recipe, there was no need for the sugar as this particular squash boasts of its natural sweetness. Read many, many reviews with outstanding results, so I knew that I could play around. I only used about a tablespoon of lite mayo and a few of lite sour cream. This side was so incredibly good Hope and thankfully there's a bit leftover for me to have for lunch tomorrow! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I don't even normally like butternut squash. This was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States