Amazing Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This truly is amazing. Instead of stuggling with the peeling and chopping of the squash I roast it and scoop out the cooked flesh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
The ingredients in this recipe delicously highlight the naturally fresh taste of the squash while adding more complexity to the taste pallet. An easy, can't miss recipe. I did substitute the crackers for breadcrumbs, but either way is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I did substitute yogurt for mayo, and didn't use half a cup of onions since I had a small squash. The consistancy was right, and it looked nice. We didn't gag, but it definately wasn't something I'd want to make again. The taste reminded me of a hashbrown casserole (onions, cheese, potatoes, sourcream) but with a twangy sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Clay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Um, sorry, but we really did not like this at all. This was our first time cooking and eatin squash, and none of us liked it much. I followed the recipe to the letter, and thought it was a lot of work (peeling and chopping the squash) for the taste. Sorry, just our opinion:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I'm surprised anyone would want to change this at all! Removing the onions or the mayo makes it bland and I can't stand the idea of making it sweeter! I did double the topping though just because I love that crunch. Anyway, I tried this recipe and brought it to a family dinner and everyone loved it! I'm pretty sure my mom might have licked her plate clean she loved it so much. I've had nothing but good reviews from this recipe since. It's definitely become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
A cool twist on butternut squash. I took the advice of others and added more onion with a little garlic salt for flavor, egg to make it stiffer, and I added 1/4 cup of chopped mixed nuts for texture and taste to the squash. I also mixed 1/4 cup of the chopped nuts to the topping which I doubled according to others' suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bollinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Not sure I'll make it again. I read the comments and thought I'd give them the benefit of doubt. I think I prefer sweet instead of savory. The topping was nice and I did double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
This was a big hit at my Christmas dinner. The people who were only being polite and tried the dish were very vocal at their surprise in how much they liked it. Used the advice of a previouse reviewer and used vanilla as well as cinnamon and graham cracker topping. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This was just so-so. I would not make it again. My husband liked it and he is an excellent cook. He rated it on a scale of 1 to 5 as a 4 pretending to be an 8; meaning it's missing something, wasn't hearty enough for him. I didn't think it was that good and I think it was because of the onions. They didn't seem to belong, or perhaps I didn't mince them fine enough. I am a huge onion fan, but did not like them in this dish. Also, I did not like the texture of this, it was too moist, even after baking. And it only tasted alright if you took a bite with some of the topping. Perhaps carmelizing the onions or using shallots instead might be better. Overall, very blah - certainly not "amazing" as the recipe title states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I made this for thanksgiving and it got rave reviews. It is a very pretty dish, and tasty! Great for holiday parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States