Amazing Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I made this for Christmas dinner and it was a big hit. I was lucky to get seconds. My daughter and I made all fresh vegs and found this a perfect recipe. Thank you, we well make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Amazing is right! I loved this dish, eating the leftovers right out of the pan. I too doubled the topping - nice and crunchy and yummy. The saltiness of the crackers contrasts so well with the sweetness of the squash. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Kemp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Balgonie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
We had 20 people for Thanksgiving dinner. NO ONE but my oldest daughter and I eat squash-however, decided to make this. I was intrigued by the cheese - I changed the saltine to Panko bread crumbs and also added a layer of crushed pecans to the topping. The casserole was just about empty! so much for just the two of us eating it. Thank you for another wonderful Holiday favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Litchfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This truly is amazing. Instead of stuggling with the peeling and chopping of the squash I roast it and scoop out the cooked flesh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
The ingredients in this recipe delicously highlight the naturally fresh taste of the squash while adding more complexity to the taste pallet. An easy, can't miss recipe. I did substitute the crackers for breadcrumbs, but either way is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I did substitute yogurt for mayo, and didn't use half a cup of onions since I had a small squash. The consistancy was right, and it looked nice. We didn't gag, but it definately wasn't something I'd want to make again. The taste reminded me of a hashbrown casserole (onions, cheese, potatoes, sourcream) but with a twangy sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Clay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Um, sorry, but we really did not like this at all. This was our first time cooking and eatin squash, and none of us liked it much. I followed the recipe to the letter, and thought it was a lot of work (peeling and chopping the squash) for the taste. Sorry, just our opinion:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I'm surprised anyone would want to change this at all! Removing the onions or the mayo makes it bland and I can't stand the idea of making it sweeter! I did double the topping though just because I love that crunch. Anyway, I tried this recipe and brought it to a family dinner and everyone loved it! I'm pretty sure my mom might have licked her plate clean she loved it so much. I've had nothing but good reviews from this recipe since. It's definitely become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
A cool twist on butternut squash. I took the advice of others and added more onion with a little garlic salt for flavor, egg to make it stiffer, and I added 1/4 cup of chopped mixed nuts for texture and taste to the squash. I also mixed 1/4 cup of the chopped nuts to the topping which I doubled according to others' suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bollinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Not sure I'll make it again. I read the comments and thought I'd give them the benefit of doubt. I think I prefer sweet instead of savory. The topping was nice and I did double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States