Amazing Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I have never eaten butternut squash before, so this was my first time to cook it. I followed the recipe but doubled the topping as other reviewers suggested. I liked the squash but did not like the topping. The parmesan cheese overpowered the taste of the squash. I may make this again but without the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
My family had never tried butternut squash before and we loved this recipe. I made several substitutions and it was fabulous. I used Miracle Whip instead of Mayo, slightly reduced the brown sugar to 3/4 tsp, used grape nuts cereal on top instead of saltines (healthier and tastes better) and I added 1 minced garlic clove and a pinch of red pepper flake to give it some extra "oomph". This dish will definately be on my Thanksgiving table this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White House, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This dish was so easy, and very delicious. I doubled the topping and used Ritz crackers, because that is what I had. I also used the vanilla yogurt suggestion, I do think the mayo would be great too, give it a nice richer flavor. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
My family and I LOVED this recipe. I knew nothing about butternut squash but found this recipe and decided to give it a try. Sending a big thank you to the reviewer who suggested quartering the squash, boiling until soft, and then scooping the soft cooked squash away from the peeling. This was a life saver, I could never have peeled the hard raw squash, it was all I could do to just get it cut into quarters. But it was worth the trouble. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I'm not crazy about squash, but it's inexpensive and nutritious so I always cook it throughout the winter. I made this recipe exactly as directed. This was dynamite! Don't think I'll ever cook squash any other way again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
this was pretty good and there are about a billion different ways to make it your own and just the way your family likes it, but to make peeling even easier do this: Slice the squash in half lengthwise and place cut side down on a parchment paper lined baking dish, drizzle with a little olive oil and bake for about 45 minutes at 350 or until tender when pierced with a knife. Allow to cool slightly and its easy to peel and slice or cube. Can also be done in the microwave but add about 1/4 cup water to pan before microcooking for 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I really liked this dish. It was creamy and flavorful. I actually cut the squash into quarters and boiled it with the skin on and then scooped out the flesh into a bowl. I was weary using Mayonaise because I thought it wouldn't taste good but it did. I would also recommend using way less mayo than recommended, maybe a 1/4 cup, depending on the size of the squash? I would like to have tried heavy cream instead, seems like a good substitute. I also added fresh shredded parmesan instead of grated and used more of it and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Yummy, yummy! Just made this for a ladies cooking club and we all loved it - even those who weren't butternut squash fans. I definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Just made this , and boy was it delicious! I would stick with this recipe because it does not need any adjustments or changes! We ate the whole bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States