Amazing Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Loved this. It isn't easy to find a butternut squash recipe that is savory. This one is really nice. The onion and parmesan cheese give it a great rich flavor, and best of all, it doesn't taste like dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashleybpink
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was great! After I made it my boyfriend and roommate could not get enough! I, like others, substituted mayo for yogurt and caramelized the onions and doubled the topping portions. I also suggest doubling the recipe because everyone will want seconds! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleybpink

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was delicious! Just made a couple changes for my diabetic husband. I sweetened with stevia to taste instead of brown sugar. Also used wholewheat bread crumbs for topping instead of saltine crackers and doubled amount. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Very accurate title. This recipe is Amazing. My wife hated butternut squash until I made this recipe. No changes necessary. This recipe is delicious just like it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serving1Lord

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I'm going to simplify this, according to what I have done with it, almost by accident. I microwaved the 1 to 1 1/2 lb squash for about 10 -12 minutes, until soft enough to scoop away from the peel. I added 1/4 cup of butter-type margerine, 1 tsp of salt, 1 generous tsp of black pepper, 1 generous tsp of garlic powder, and a generous tblsp of dark brown sugar. I mashed and mixed this all thoroughly, and served it alongside some really good roast chicken, on the plate. The flavor and taste of the squash was delightful! I have eaten lots of butternut, but never any that was more delicious than this. Maybe I lucked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I am dieting, and this is a perfect side dish - instead of mashed taters or mac and cheese. I did as some others suggested and added more onions and grilled them. I also had some leftover sweet potato and added that into the mix. A very good recipe that I will continue to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Had never cooked with butternut squash before and this was a great casserole! A really nice fall dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
it was pretty good. i would spread into a bigger dish and add more cunchies on top , i like the cheesy cracker taste but the squash is good to. onions work well in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This is awesome just the way it is. This is a nice change to the sweet recipes I am use to. I will definitely be making this again maybe try some of the modification other people suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This is great!! I don't know what the other people meant to leave the onion out..... Onion goes with everything! Everyone went back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 121-130 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States