Amazing Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Very accurate title. This recipe is Amazing. My wife hated butternut squash until I made this recipe. No changes necessary. This recipe is delicious just like it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serving1Lord

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I'm going to simplify this, according to what I have done with it, almost by accident. I microwaved the 1 to 1 1/2 lb squash for about 10 -12 minutes, until soft enough to scoop away from the peel. I added 1/4 cup of butter-type margerine, 1 tsp of salt, 1 generous tsp of black pepper, 1 generous tsp of garlic powder, and a generous tblsp of dark brown sugar. I mashed and mixed this all thoroughly, and served it alongside some really good roast chicken, on the plate. The flavor and taste of the squash was delightful! I have eaten lots of butternut, but never any that was more delicious than this. Maybe I lucked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I am dieting, and this is a perfect side dish - instead of mashed taters or mac and cheese. I did as some others suggested and added more onions and grilled them. I also had some leftover sweet potato and added that into the mix. A very good recipe that I will continue to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Had never cooked with butternut squash before and this was a great casserole! A really nice fall dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
it was pretty good. i would spread into a bigger dish and add more cunchies on top , i like the cheesy cracker taste but the squash is good to. onions work well in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This is awesome just the way it is. This is a nice change to the sweet recipes I am use to. I will definitely be making this again maybe try some of the modification other people suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This is great!! I don't know what the other people meant to leave the onion out..... Onion goes with everything! Everyone went back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Food Fan
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Loved, loved, loved!! I followed the recipe as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I have to disagree with some previous reviewers -- do, Do, DO use the onion. I personally really like onion with squash, especially red onions, which I use in several of my favorite recipes. Although I'm sure the sweeter take on it is good too, shun not the onion! Also, I might steal the idea of using yogurt -- for me plain -- instead of mayo for decreased sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Our Family loved it. I have never prepared this type of squash before and I'll be sure to have it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States