Amazing Banana Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
Didn't really care for it...way too sweet & the whole thing turned dark well before it even froze. Maybe some lemon juice would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
This is a very unappetizing dish to look at! Unless of course you like different color browns for dessert! Too sweet also as another reviewer noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Being tired of banana breads, cookies and muffins I decided to try this recipe. I used 3/4 cup of leftover heavy sugar syrup to which lemon juice had been added during cooking (2cups sugar, 1 cup water & 1/4 cup lemon juice). I then processed the bananas and the syrup briefly in food processor until smooth, poured into a tupperware container, froze for a few hours, mashed with a fork and froze again. Hubby, who's not too fond of banana concoctions, asked for second and third helpings. DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I will try less sugar next time - too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I also used a simple syrup as suggested in a prior review, and added it to taste...I used about 5 overripe banannas, and then just for the heck of it I threw in some strawberrys...it turned out great! This is a nice recipe that is a bit lighter then the usual bananna bread for leftover banannas, and nice for summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This was very easy to make, but WAY too sweet. I could not eat it, but hubby liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Due to the reviews I cut back the sugar a bit. I also added a pinch each of cinnamon & nutmeg, an additional banana a dash of cocoa & a splash of milk. It came out beautifully. Next time I'm going to add some strawberries just to see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
i used reduced fat evaporated milk and some fat free sterilized milk instead of water - to cream it up - it was delicious - will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
very sweet, put less sugar and add frozen fruits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
My family won't eat bananas once they are two hours past ripe! So, I've been looking for recipes that call for ripe bananas. This tasted pretty good, but I wouldn't call it sorbet. It did not have the lightness that comes with sorbet. It was more like frozen sweetened mashed bananas. I did cut back to 3/4 cup sugar based upon others' recommendations. So, it didn't taste too sweet. But, we all concluded that we'd rather just eat a banana, or even a frozen banana. Perhaps it would be more sorbet like if you let chunks of banana flavor the syrup, then strain out half of the banana before mixing and freezing? Sorry. I really wanted to like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States