Amazing Banana Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Too much sugar and it didn't turn out like i expected it. Next time not so much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Matt
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
The end product is delicious and It has a perfect texture and very sweet. My only suggestion is to use 2 more cups of water. Instead of white sugar I used brown sugar which is still very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Sometimes, I really should look at the reviews 1st. But alas, I normally don't the 1st time out. The recipe seemed pretty easy with the 1:1:1 ratio and I totally needed to use up 4 cups of bananas. Following the recipe to a T with the correct ratio being multiplied to a 4:4:4 ratio, I was disappointed. It was way way to sugary. It was like frozen syrup even after waiting over 12 hours to scoop and serve. The sugar needs to be cut down to half to get the suttle flavor of the pure banana. As is, the recipe was so sweet it tasted like banana flavored Laffy Taffy....I'll try again with tweaks but won't be adding that much sugar again. Sorry for the poor review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
NEEDS just a little work, Knowing it would be too sweet from everyone else's input, I chose to start with a little over 1 cup of crushed ice in the blender, 4 sliced up bananas on top of that,pour over a cup of the cooled simple syrup. Blend thoroughly and pour into a gallon freezer ziplok bag. freeeze but pull the bag out every 20 minutes or so to palpate the bag and make sure the mixture stays pliable. You can put it in the blender and reblend after it is frozen. It stays bright and yellow and tasted really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I have made this it tastes great and looks quiet nice. I did add some yellow food coloring after reading the reviews.The size and ripeness of the banana would have a lot to do with it turning brown I used older bananas so I had no problem with the end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I had very ripe bananas and didn't want to make banana bread again. I have never made sorbet before and was surprised at how easy it was. My kids love this. My only thought is that the recipe is overly sweet. Next time I will add less sugar and a few tablespoons of lemon juice to liven it up. I have a feeling this will be a regular in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I double the amt of banana and add a couple spoonfulls of OJ to keep it yellow. I make this early in the morning and hand-mix it with a fork every few hours so I don't have to deal with an electric mixer. If ya really want a sugar rush, add some caramel sauce ontop, so good! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Just made this and wish I had read the reviews first. I agree that you could probably cut the sugar in half -- too sweet. Great idea though, will definitely be making this again with less sugar and would love to add in other kinds of fruit too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was great! You could use less sugar if you would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Disappointed. It tasted way too sweet for me, but if you like the super sugary stuff, it's awesome! Just not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States