Amatriciana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This was excellent! I was hesitant to put a meatless meal in front of my hubby, but he said it was the best sauce he has ever had! Easy, quick & delicious. I suppose you could add ground beef or sausage to it if you wanted, but it is a winner all by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
One observation I would like to make: Amatriciana NEVER NEVER NEVER has basil or parsley in it. It originated with the shepherds in the mountains of Amatrice, who would take a piece of cheek bacon and sheep cheese (Romano cheese) with them while herding to make their meal, and it was called "alla gricia". No tomato was used. Today it is made with chilli peppers, minced onion, a little garlic (if you want), and white wine to unstick the bacon and onion and chilli pepper from the frying pan, then add the tomatoes - and is truly delicious. Once the pasta (buccatini) is almost cooked, drain it, put it in a wide, tall frying pan with the sauce and with equal proportions of Romano and Parmesan cheese, and sauté it for a minute or 2 ... buon appetito. P.S. - My credentials: my best friend and cuisine advisor was born and raised in Amatrice and is a first class cook. I have lived and cooked in Italy for more than 50 years. Nice to meet you all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This is the best recipe ever!!! I've been making it since I found it. I do add more bacon and cook it a little longer also!!! You absolutely must try this. My whole family just loves it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I love this recipe!!! It was easy to make, and tasted so delicious!!! The tutorial is very short but specific. You won't regret making this dish as everyone who tries it will think "what an amazing cook you are."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Very easy to make, husband and I loved it but the kids didn't like the red pepper flakes -- thought it was too spicy. I would definitely make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
My family loves this recipe. I have another recipe that uses fresh tomatoes for the sauce. It tasted excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Really loved it. I didn't need to add any salt or pepper. The taste was the best. My husband loved it too and he's not into tomatoes that much. THKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaritaconsal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
What a simple, yet wonderful recipe! I added a little extra bacon and didn't have fresh basil (so I used dried, and it was fine). Don't skip the parmesan cheese--it's the best part and ties it all together. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was really good didn't change anything my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Simple. Delicious. I used pancetta and, because I hate buying fresh herbs, only to throw away most of what I bought, dried basil. The recipe made 5 generous servings, with a small side veggie. I served it with a nice glass of Nero D'Avola and was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amatriciana

This classic spicy Italian tomato sauce stars bacon and fresh basil.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States