Amatriciana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This recipe is about right. The only things that should be noted is that, after tomatoes are added, they should cook for more than 10 minutes. You need about 20 minutes of simmering or the sauce won't be cooked. Remember also to add salt and pepper to taste before finishing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
I recently had this dish at a local pasta restraunt and wanted to duplicate it. Based on my dinner and previous reviews, I made some changes and it turned out great! While sauting the onions and garlic, I added 1/2 chopped green bell pepper and after adding the diced tomatoes, I added apprx 1 tsp dried basil, 1 tsp dried oregano and 1/2 tsp garlic powder. I also sprinkled dry parsley over all when the meal was served. In the future, I may try adding some Italian sausage (but to do this, I may have to add an additional can of tomatoes to cover the pasta adequately). The bacon gives this dish a subtle smokey flavor and what's great is that you can adjust the heat by adding more red pepper flakes. Thanks Elizabeth...for great dining at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2000
This recipe is really good, a perfect example of something being greater than the sum of its parts. I've since found out it has been around since Roman times, now I know why! I have made this dish dozens of times and have experimented with it a bit, the only change that I felt was an improvement was to double the red pepper flakes. I've also tried adding more bacon and it does not make it better in my opinion. The beauty of this recipe is it's simplicity and the delicate balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Thank you, thank you, thank you! I finally made a good sauce. As always I tweaked this a little per other reviewers. I used 7 slices of bacon (my lucky #), used red onion and let it get slightly brown, added 1 tsp. dried oregeno & 1/2 tsp. dried basil when adding garlic (which I doubled) and red pepper flakes. I used 1 can tomato sauce & I can diced tomatoes w/roasted garlic (Contadina is my fav brand). I let it cook for 20-30 minutes & stirred in fresh basil. FABULOUS. My boyfriend even said he liked it better than Francesco Rinaldi (which was our fav).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Sell

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This is a great pasta sauce! I sweat the onions and garlic in a little olive oil first, then add smoked bacon. When the bacon is cooked, I add 1/2 C dry white wine and let it reduce. Then I add the tomatoes and herbs/spices, and let it simmer to blend all the flavors together. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Ingraham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
This was pretty good and very easy. would add a little more bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Delicioso! Definitely a five-star meal! I used pancetta (Italian bacon, found in your deli counter) in place of bacon and added hot Italian turkey sausage. I grew up on pasta and red sauce. We had it so much I grew sick of it. I was a little leary of all the tomatoes but I am trying to eat healthier so I gave it a go. My grandfather never made red sauce like this! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This recipe is excellent. It is a simple dish, yet wonderfully rich with flavor. It's not often that I follow a recipe to the letter -- I am always changing a little something here or there. But I followed this one almost to the T (I did use diced tomatoes instead of the called for) and it was perfect! I will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Didn't have bacon, used a small amount of smoked hickory salt. Really enjoyed the kick in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Wow! This is an awesome recipe. My husband travels quite a bit and has eaten at a lot of nice restaurants. He LOVED this. He told me it was restaurant quality. It is going under our "favorites" file. I've made it with turkey bacon and wheat pasta and gotten the same great results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Amatriciana

This classic spicy Italian tomato sauce stars bacon and fresh basil.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States