Amatriciana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
So, I saw this and knew I had to make it. Then I realized I didn't have onions...or even dehydrated onions GRRR. Then I had an "aha" moment. I substituted the onion and canned tomatoes with Aylmers Accents diced tomatoes with onion/celery/green peppers. Delicious! Thanks for the inspiration!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Ward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This recipe was easy,easy and quick, I did add 1/3 of a cup of white wine, delish. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Great dish! This traditional Italian dish is usually made with bucatini pasta and panchetta (Italian bacon). Crushed tomatoes is a good alternative to stewed and fresh, grated cheese really brings flavors out. Simmer for an hour or two if possible. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Pretty dang good. Next time I would like to add more bacon and maybe some shrimp. But it was a simple recipe that turned out surprisingly flavorful. We didn't add any salt or pepper either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britstoke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Made this on Sat. but halved the amount of pasta , and used one can of stewed tomatoes . Kept every thing else as written . The flavor of the bacon and onion disappeared , and we thought it was too sweet ,maybe from the stewed tomatoes . Will try again , doubling the bacon and onion . Will try with either whole tomatoes or diced instead of the stewed .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Double the bacon and basil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
We tried your recipe awhile ago and thought this recipe was very good tasting. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Loved it! It was easy to make! I used turkey bacon which made the dish healthier. I then added a drop of oil so that the turkey would cook better. I also took the advice to leave the tomatoes cooking longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I made it exactly like the recipe, and it seemed very bland. The tomatoes seemed to overpower the other flavors, makeing the dish taste like just pasta and stewed tomatoes. Not a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I followed another reviewer's advise and added some basil and oregano to this sauce. I also threw in some chopped bell pepper. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amatriciana

This classic spicy Italian tomato sauce stars bacon and fresh basil.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States