Amatriciana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
My husband and I both loved this pasta dish! I made a few changes to the recipe: I doubled the bacon, chopped one onion, and I used 2 cans of tomato sauce instead of 2 cans of stewed tomatoes. I left the sauce simmering longer than stated while I was waiting for the pasta to cook and it blended the flavors well. I will definitely be making this again and will use whole wheat pasta next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I love this, it's so versatile, I can usually find everything in the pantry. I have used panchetta and bacon, as well as fire roasted tomatoes a few times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I didn't have stewed tomatoes, so i made them from scratch, just boiled the tomatoes enough to peel the skins, then let them boil until they were soft, added sugar and salt to the water. those tomatoes really MADE that dish!!!! Definitely gonna do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I thought this was pretty good. I followed the recipe, except that I used a whole pound of bacon and I let it simmer for about 25 minutes after adding all the ingredients. My husband, however, was very disappointed that there was not much bacon flavor. After smelling the bacon cooking, he was really looking forward to a great dinner, but the bacon flavor just wasn't there. Next time I will simmer the tomatoes, but I will add the crispy bacon at the last minute. Overall, it was a welcome change from our normal jar of sauce off the shelf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Good recipe. It would taste better with sausage instead of the bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Very good, I gave it 3 stars because this recipe would be very bland if made as is, though. I just made a few changes. I added twice as much bacon as the recipe called for, added 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp basil and 1 tsp oregono and I used tomato puree instead of stewed tomatoes (I hate chunky tomato sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Sooo yummy! I had to use different noodles and I forgot to add the parmesan cheese, but it still tasted great!! It's a refreshing twist on traditional spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Siloam Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I made this dish for my fiance last night, added parmesan and a few basil leaves for garnish and he said he thought it was better than a lot of pastas he ate in restaurants. This was delicious, the basil was perfect and just enough chilli to give it a kick but not to burn forever. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Just absolutely great. I use it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I have made this twice and it is awesome! It worked better for me with linguine than with bow tie pasta. When doubling the bacon, I used 4 slices of regular bacon and 4 slices of pepper bacon to add a little more kick. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amatriciana

This classic spicy Italian tomato sauce stars bacon and fresh basil.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States