Amatriciana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is a classic italian pasta recipe, one of my favourites. I should tell you that the orginal italian recipe calls for "guanciale" instead of bacon (i found it can translate to "jawls"). I don't use the garlic as I don't like it very much, I use fresh tomatoes in it and later add some tomato sauce to finish. Salt and pepper to taste are missing from this recipe. When the pasta is cooked I always add some butter to it and mix throughly before stirring in the sauce, it gives more flavour and lets the sauce stick more to the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorenzo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was very good. I used diced tomatos, red onion and fresh garlic. I also added red pepper. I didn't have any fresh herbs so I used basil and oregino. I sprinkled pasil on top at the end. I also added a 1/4 a cup of white wine to give it a little more flavor. I had some canned mushrooms leftover from another meal and through those in at the end. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This was very simple...I thought too simple to be that great, but i had all the ingredients and so I tried it...it was SO GOOD!! My husband said he had to stop himself from licking the bowl school the next day :) I did add some salt and pepper and used fresh parsley instead of basil (that's all I had) and it turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This is one of my favorite weeknight recipes. Quick, easy and good! I sometimes add broiled shrimp (brushed with olive oil and sprinkled with Italian seasoning) or grilled chicken to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
EXCELLENT recipe! Very simple ingredients come together for great flavor. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLONDIENEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I can't believe how good this tasted with such simple ingredients. I made exactly as written and it was easy and delicious. I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
A perfect classic Italian dish. I did end up using a red onion, because it is what I had on hand. I would highly recommend this delicious pasta dish. Pair it with a nice crusty bread and you have a fast and easy anytime meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I love this! I've made it twice now and will be making it many times more. Very easy to make with lots of yummy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pumpkincookie84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ohio City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delphos, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Nothing special, IMHO. I worked from home today, but didn't feel like going to the grocery store 5 minutes down the road to get the few items I needed to make chimichangas because of the terrible weather (it's snowing like CRAZY here in Chicago!!!). I had all the ingredients on hand to make Amatriciana (and was able to clean my pantry to boot!), so I decided to give this a try. My only change (based on what I had on hand) was to sub diced tomatoes for stewed. I must say, this is the simplest, easiest recipe - ever (and very economical too!). Served with crusty French bread (to sop up the sauce) and homemade wine coolers (EJRIPPY), this was certainly authentic, just not to my liking. I think I will stick with Cajun Pasta Fresca (Nicole) when I am craving a fresh tomato sauce. Thanks anyways. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This has been one of my favorite recipes since before I knew what it was. I'll save the long story for someone who may care but suffice it to say one of my culinary staples. Like many of the other reviewers, I have taken "poetic licence" with this recipe and recommend to those with a little adventure to add a cup or so of "sea-food medley". A mix that's now available in your frozen food section of cooked shrimp, squid, cuttlefish, oysters and clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amatriciana

This classic spicy Italian tomato sauce stars bacon and fresh basil.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States