Amateur's Light Breeze Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
this is fricken amazing! i love the taste! i found that my crockpot wouldnt boil this much even after an hour, so i put it back on the stove to finish it off. I also recommend adding a bit more chicken and even some ground beef to it (since I'm a meat fan). Other than that it's muy perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
THIS RECIPE WONDERFUL. BUT OF COURSE I CHANGED IT UP A LITTLE FOR OUR TASTE AS WE HAVE LITTLE MOUTHS TO FEED. I DID NOT DRAIN ANY CANNED ITEM. INSTEAD OF JALAPENOS I USED A LARGE CAN OF DICED CHILIES. ALSO CHOPPED UP TWO STALKS OF CELERY, BUT I DID NOT USE ANY OF THE WATER AND IT WAS STILL MORE SOUPY THAN CHILI WE ARE USED TO BUT GREAT. WE ALSO GARNISHED WITH SOUR CREAM AND CHEESE. AND ATE IT OVER CORN BREAD. WE PLAN ON ADDING THIS TO OUR FAVORITES LIST OF MEALS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was so great! I did make these changes however...... I halved the recipe and used 2 chicken breasts cut up (not a canned chicken fan), 2 cans of beans, can of corn, and crushed tomatoes as opposed to stewed (personal preference) This does pack some heat, which we loved. This will be a regular for us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I have made this recipe dozens of times - it's so easy and delicious! I don't use canned chicken; I use the breast meat of a rotisserie chicken that I get from the store and I use lots of cumin. You can change up the recipe any way you want - I don't put in bell peppers but I add chopped celery. This is one of my favorite recipes of all time! And you can freeze the leftovers - if you have any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Don't add the jalepenos or add less than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Here's how to make it a five star: As it was, this recipe was likely about a four star, but with a few improvements, it's easily a five. Canned chicken creeps me out too (as one other reviewer stated), so I used 3 real chicken breasts. While boiling the breasts, I sauteed the onions and peppers for about 5 minutes prior to adding them to 2 cans Mex stewed tomatoes (which I had chopped), 2 can of chili beans, and a half jar of jalapenos (which I had chopped). After the chicken was cooked through, I melted about 1 T of butter and sauteed 2 cloves of garlic, then added the shredded/cubed chicken and seasoned it with about 2 T of Frank's Red Hot. I then added it to the pot along with 1T of cumin and 1T of chili powder. Then added 1 can of chicken broth and 1 can of water. About 20 minutes into simmering, I noted the soupiness, so I mixed about 3T of cornstarch and 3-4 T of water together, and then added it to the pot and mixed well. It turned out amazing... thick, healthy, delicious, and just the right amount of spiciness not to interfere with the flavor. I also served it over a slice of wheat bread w/ a piece of fat free cheese on top... outstanding :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This is so easy and good! And it is spicy enough for my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Very easy and flavorful- but I generally like spicy things, and this one was a little too spicy, even for me! I will make it again, but will use less jalapeños next time. Also- it did store very well, I made the whole 15 servings, and froze half. A month later I put that half in the crock pot for about 8 hours and it tasted just as good as the first time around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I made this chili but it came out more like a soup. I only used 5 cups of water and it was still too soupy. I ended up mixing cornstarch and water, then I added it to the chili. It really thickened it up nicely. I did not really like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This chili is so good! Really really hot. I cooked it in the slow cooker with chicken breasts that I shreaded later. I used less water and more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States