Amaretto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I like Amaretto, but am a bit of a snob when it comes to the brand, I don't think anything is worth drinking unless it is the Disaronno, and I can honestly say, this recipe is so very close to Disaronno that I will make this rather than spend on the real thing now. Thank you so much for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I figured the best way to compare is to do a side by side comparison :) I followed the recipe exactly and used dark brown sugar. Two shots side by side the color was slightly different but I'm thinking it's just my brand of dark brown sugar. The scent of both was pretty dead on but Disarono has a slight rubbing alchohol leftover scent towards the end. Finally the taste test, the Disaronno had a slightly stronger and sharper aftertaste. This amaretto had a smoother, fuller, and a tad bit sweeter taste to it. Surprisingly I'd have to say I like this amaretto more than Disaronno. Give it a try. It's worth the effort and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This really is very good. I love to make a drink called blueberry tea but it can get pricey. This recipe lowered that bill. Brew an earl grey tea bag, add 1 ounce amaretto, 1 ounce Grand Marnier, and a twist of orange. Now I just need a recipe for Grand Marnier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Who knew it could be this easy to make delicious amaretto?? I will never buy commercial amaretto again. I even used the cheapest of vodkas, and this turned out wonderfully. I intend to give it as gifts! Thanks for posting such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
Incredible! So much like the real thing! It's easy enough that I was able to whip up a batch in no time for unexpected company. It works great in recipies too! It's so much less expensive than spending at least $15 for a small bottle of Amaretto and my old Italian family couldn't even tell it was homemade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
I get rave reviews on this Amaretto! I don't drink as a life choice but as a host who wants to serve my guest something special and very tasty, may of them ask for this receipe! They don't believe I made it until I hand them this receipe. I save a VOX bottle and fill it up. It looks great and maybe taste better?? Can be used right after it cools down, yes, better when cooled...be patient...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This recipe is very close to the real thing .. or should I say the store bought version. Only thing is next time I'm going to add a little less vodka about 1/2 cup less... great for gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal D Cobb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Amazing! I gave it away to some friends who always drink Disaronno & they couldn't tell the difference. They drink it with sprite or 7-up and it's great! Now that I've tried it, I wish I hadn't given it all away. Two tips 1. use DARK brown sugar 2. make sure the simple syrup is not hot before adding your liquor or the vodka will evaporate (10 minutes wasn't long enough for mine to cool down). I experimented & used cheap vodka & I didn't like it at all! I really didn't think it would make too much of a difference but it did. I store it in the fridge and shake well before serving. Great find! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
I love this recipe. I have made it several times now and everyone just loves it. I took it on a sleigh ride this past winter and people were drinking it straight up it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
This is the first liqueur recipe I have tried. I really enjoy it with coffee, cola, and even ice cream so far. I really don't know how it could be improved, but I really prefer to make everything that calls for brown sugar with dark brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amaretto Sour Cocktail

A little sweet, a little tart, this refreshing cocktail is simply delicious.

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

The Vortex Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a sweet and fruity vodka cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States