Amaretto Divine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Made this cake 4 times already! First try, I couldn't find the Amaretto and used the Bailey's Toffee Almond creamer and it was still good, according to my co-workers - same flavor pattern as the Amaretto and toffee. I made it again, with the Amaretto creamer and ended up winning the Bake Off at work with this cake! SO delicious! Agree with the other posts, bake a little longer, make sure the whipped cream is good and stiff before folding in the pudding. I used chopped up Heath Bars on the first 2 and then I tried the Heath Chunks, found in with the Chocolate Chips section at the store, and it turned out great either way. My son-in-law wanted this cake for Thanksgiving, which got me off the hook for making the turkey! Not only is it good, but super easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
My whole family loves this cake! I don't use alcohol in the frosting because my family is very LDS. Instead I use the almond flavoring. I make it about 1-2 times a year. Only once did I have a problem with getting the cake to come out of the pan. when that happened I decided to turn it into a triffel and acted like that was how I wanted it to turn out. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this for a Christmas party. I accidentally put the pudding in the cake batter (used a second box for the filling). With all the liquid, it was able to aborb it. Definitely whip your cream just a bit longer. Once I added the pudding mixture to the cream, I whipped it more until it was just slightly stiff.I left big chunks of candy bar and did not do the chocolate drizzle. Great cake! It is sinful and decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This has to be one of the best tasting cakes I have ever made. The family loved it and wanted to ensure I make this cake again. Some modifications will need to be made the next time but other wise this cake is AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This recipe is delicious. Had it at a friend's home and had to have the recipe. Very light and full of flavor. I would give this one a 10!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jponcik
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I made this cake for the first time last week for our annual cook off at work. One of the judges said she loves chocolate so much that my cake, as pretty as it was, had no chance of winning her vote. I'm happy to say that not only did I win her over but I won the dessert category! She could not believe how delicious and moist this cake was; everyone loved it and had to have the recipe. This is my first time to write a review on a recipe; had I not read the reviews before attempting to make this cake, I might not have won. They were all very helpful. I too made a few adjustments to the original recipe; regardless of the size of cake pans you use, the cook time is longer than 15 minutes. I used nine inch cake pans so the cook time was increased to 22 minues. I was a little conerned that the Amaretto would be over whelming but it was not, I used the exact amounts it calls for. The whipping cream was increased to 3 cups so there would be enough icing for the sides. Beat the wipping cream to very stiff peaks, it will soften up a lot once you add the pudding mixture. Instead of placing sliced almonds on the top of the cake, I added more chocolate covered toffee pieces by using a star cookie cutter as a mold. This cake is a new family favorite that I will continue to make year after year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jponcik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This is the BEST CAKE EVER!! I started making this cake a few years ago & it is specifically requested all the time now. Last time I made it I made a double batch & made cup cakes along side the cake. There is never a piece left over to take back home. I even made the chocolate version that someone mentioned & it was really good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I would like to try this recipe but make them into cupcakes. How long do you think I should bake them? Should I change the temperature? Any other suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chriss Siembida
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Everyone LOVED this cake. Even my friend who doesn't like cake! I gave it about 8 more min. cooking time, and toasted the almonds first, otherwise I fallowed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chriss Siembida

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shell
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Great recipe! I couldn't find amaretto creamer so I used almond toffee. Very good! I also used french vanilla pudding. Put double dipped chocolate covered strawberries on top with the chocolate drizzle. I made it for my best friend's Birthday. Very impressive cake. Make it without hesitation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amaretto Sour Cocktail

A little sweet, a little tart, this refreshing cocktail is simply delicious.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States