Amaretto Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I made this into cupcakes. I skipped the apricot filling. I used 3 cups of powdered sugar instead of the 4 the recipe called for in the icing. The icing wasn't as firm without the 4th cup, but the flavor was awesome! They were a big hit at the picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This recipe wasn't what I expected. When i read over the ingredients and directions, I expected the filling to be more filling and less puddle. I also wasn't expecting the frosting to be a glaze. The flavors were very good.. but it definitely needs some fine tuning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Agree with Linda T. Will add more apricots for the puree. I will also be spreading icing between the layers before the puree next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Wonderful, it tastes and looks like you spent a lot of time making it but is fairly simple. The only change I would make is to reduce the amount of cream cheese and powdered sugar in the frosting by half. It was way too much for just frosting the sides and top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This is the very BEST cake I have tasted - I made it for a group of friends who immediately wanted the recipe. Don't change a thing - it's just perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Texas City, Texas, USA
Living In: Rio Frio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Maybe consider reducing the filling down a bit so the cake isn't as soaked with amaretto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I made as the recipe states but less sugar in the frosting(2 cups instead of 4). Tried layering the filling first then the frosting but that got messy! Then tried frosting first then filling. But I think the point is for the filling to soak into the cake. But all in all it was a wonderful cake!! It goes best with cofee!! I am eating a piece right now with my coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Very nice tasting cake. If I make it again I will use the berry filling. The frosting made a lot. I will also decrease the cream cheese.One other problem I ran into the frosting was very runny. I keep putting the cake in the fridge. Any suggestions............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Wow, yummy! I made the recipe exactly as directed and it was fantastic. I had worried the apricot filling would be too thin and soak into the cake but it didn't. Changes I'll make next time: This does make a lot of frosting, I'll probably follow another reviewers suggestion and add a thin layer of frosting to the inner layers of cake. The cake was a little difficult to cut in half, next time I'll freeze the layers before cutting them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
We just got done making this cake. Yes, the frosting is too runny. We noticed that after we had added 2 cups of powdered sugar, it was the ideal consistency, but adding the additional 2 cups of sugar is what made is loosen up. My recommendation is to add LESS sugar (only 2 out of the 4 cups).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States