Amaretto Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Didn't bother reading the reviews cause of the high rating. Did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Pretty much stuck to the recipe and it really turned out well. A lot better than I was anticipating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I made this for dessert tonight. I have made lots of different cheesecakes because is my husband's favorite dessert. He loved it. It turned out very creamy and tasted great. After reading the other reviews of this recipe and having made many other cheesecakes, the 450 degree oven temperature seemed too high. I preheated the oven to 450 and when it was time to put the cheesecake in the oven I reduced the temperature to 350. I used the water bath as the recipe called for. After it baked for 1 hour, I checked it and it seemed like it needed to bake a little longer. I baked it for another 15 minutes. Then I turned off the oven and left it in the oven for 30 minutes with the oven off. Then I took it out of the oven to let it cool for 2 hours, then refrigerated it. I did not invert it as the recipe called for as it didn't seem necessary. I think to change it up, this would also be great with some fresh fruit on top when it is served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
At 450 degrees, my cheesecake turned into a meteorite. I wish I had read the reviews prior to wasting 4 bricks of cream cheese and the expensive extracts. Someone needs to fix the temp on this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam-i-am
Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I made this cake last night and had good hopes for it since everyone commented that the flavor was good. I gave my original rating a five because I believed the opinions of most of the reviewers, but maybe they liked it because they cooked the hell out of it. I felt the flavor was way off to be called amaretto. The orange actually came out more. It just wasn't amaretto and the flavorings are too expensive to waste like that. The texture was fine. The biggest problem with the recipe seemed to be the temperature. My favorite "master" recipe (from "The Best Recipe" put out by Cooks Illustrated Magazine), the rich and creamy version, calls for a temperature of 325 using a water bath for 55-60 minutes or until the center jiggles like Jell-O when the pan is tapped. Then you turn off the heat and let the cake sit with the door slightly ajar (with a wooden spoon handle holding it somewhat open) for an hour. Remove the cake and let it cool on a rack, then refrigerate at least four hours before removing from the pan. The "master" recipe calls for a 9-inch pan but the volume and liquidity of ingredients seems about the same otherwise, so tbe 10-inch pan may cook a little faster than the 55 minutes, but don't worry about it one way or the other...there is considerable difference from oven to oven. Go with the jiggle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDEEBUG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Excellent holiday recipe! Family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Excellent cheesecake, for a family who is used to blan tastes they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This cheescake had a WONDERFUL flavor but it was not easy! Deciding that the farenheight/celsius degrees had been accidently switched, I chose to bake my cheescake at the 230 temp. Well I ended up baking it for 2 hours! I was really disappointed because this had been the dessert that I had been bragging about for the week leading up to Thanksgiving. I still brough it and people liked it but it never set to the right consistency even after 2 hours. Very good taste just wish it had been easier to make and had set right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Well, this was my first attempt at a cheesecake and it was definitely a learning experience. First of all, I had the same problem as another reviewer, the 450 temperature seemed too hot. I too had to turn the temperature down after about 40 minutes. I covered the top with foil to keep it from getting any darker and baked it for another 20 minutes. After removing it from the oven and letting it set for two hours I removed the cake from the pan and it was completely uncooked in the centre! So I forced it back into the pan and baked it for another hour at 350 and it was okay after that...not pretty, but okay. A little whipped cream and some sliced almonds on top prettied it up a bit. So I'll definitely know what to do for next time, and by the way, the taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Kahlúa Pumpkin Cheesecake

See how to make a rich, marbled pumpkin cheesecake flavored with Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States