Amaretto Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This recipe was very good when I tweaked it a bit based on other reviews. I didn't have all of the ingredients listed, so I made some changes. I used vanilla wafers instead of graham crackers for the crust, and Splenda for baking instead of the sugar in the crust, along with doubling the amounts of the crust ingredients. I also exchanged 8 ounces of sour cream for 8 ounces of plain lowfat yogurt, and used Neufchatel cheese instead of cream cheese. I used 1/2 cup of Splenda for baking along with 3/4 cup of sugar for the batter. I also used 1/3 cup of amaretto instead of the smaller amount in the original recipe. When baking, I used a 10 inch springform pan and baked it in a water bath. No cracking! I added an extra 5 minutes to the baking time because the extra amaretto made the batter a bit thin. After it was cooled, I made a glaze from 2 and 1/2 Tablespoons melted butter, 1 cup confectioner's sugar, 1 Tablespoon amaretto, and 1/4 cup chopped almonds. The cheesecake turned out wonderfully light and delicious! Everyone agreed that this tweaked recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I made this cheesecake for my family and it was a big hit. The hint of amaretto is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I made this yesterday and it was very good, but even tho I baked it as long as it said and left it in the oven, it cracked when I took the spring form pan off. No big deal I guess. It was 'fluffier' than I expected it to be. I love the super dense texture of traditional cheesecake. I suppose it was the sour cream instead of a 3rd pkg of cream cheese. The company raved about it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This was a great cheesecake. Let's just say there was none left. This is also a good basic receipe for a cheesecake if you wanted to make a different cheesecake other them amaretto. Very creamy and not too heavy like most i have made. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
Wonderful as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
This was my first attempt at making a cheesecake. It turned out great. I made it for my husband and he loves it. I followed some of the earlier advice and added a little more Amaretto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
Love the creamy texture of this cheesecake. My family loved it. Was concerned about the crack in the top, but read all the reviews and one of the reviews gives hints to help prevent cracks in the cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
This sloppy mess must have a typo in it. Maybe it should be 5 TEASPOONS instead of 5 tablespoons of amaretto? The batter was too thin, and the cake overrose and then flopped - usually signs of a too thin batter. Flavor was dull and cake looked awful. I'll go back to my tried and true chocolate chip cheesecake in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
I took this cheescake to a dinner invitation and they raved on the almond flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
I couldnt really taste the flavour of the amaretto but the cheesecake itself was amazing. I thought it was just as simple as a cake mix to mix up. Instead of the 9" pan I used a 9" pie pan but found I didnt have enough room so I had to make up another pan to take the remainder of the batter ( this was a much bigger pan ). My boyfriend who isnt much of a cake eater loved this dish - even went back for seconds. Even tho the smaller dish was a mistake I will use it again in the future. The cake was small enough I didnt get any cracking across the top ( the larger pan had a big crack in the top )and my guy preferred the thinner slices. Good recipe ! For anyone wanting more flavour I would just add a little of the amaretto when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Kahlúa Pumpkin Cheesecake

See how to make a rich, marbled pumpkin cheesecake flavored with Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States