Amaretto Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I made this with just a few changes. First I increased the graham cracker crumbs to 1 1/2 cup. Original recipe had the crust a little skimpy. Then I increased the cream cheese to 3 packs, decreased the vanilla extract to 1 teaspoon and added 1 teaspoon of almond extract. And finally I increased the amaretto lipueur to 1/3 cup. If you want to add a nice touch, take 1/4 cup sliced almonds and mix with 1 tablespoon of sugar and 2 tablespoons of melted butter. Toast for 7-8 minutes in an 350 oven and after cake is baked sprinkle this mix on the top of the cake. I made this yesterday to serve today and let me tell you everyone "inhaled" this cake. There is nothing left!!! They loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS.LINDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I made this for booze night for our weekly dinner party and it was a hit! I added just a slight bit more almond extract to give it more full amaretto flavor. Next time I'll add a little more cookie crust, otherwise this is a hit! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyraquist

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Awesome! I did add a lot, though. First, I made an almond crust using 9 graham crackers, 1/2 c toasted almonds, 1 1/2 tbsp sugar, and 1/4 c melted butter. Bake at 350 for 12 minutes. For the cheesecake, I reduced the cornstarch to 1 1/2 Tbsp and increased the amaretto to 1/3 c. I baked it for an hour in a water bath, then turned the oven off and cracked the door open. I let it sit there for an hour, took it out, and refrigerated it when it had cooled. I had no problem with cracking. I let it sit in the frige for 2 days for the flavor to develop. Then I cut out an 8" circle of wax paper and layed it on the cake. I sprinkled the edges with toasted chopped almonds and removed the wax paper. Last, I piped on a glaze made with 1/4 c powdered sugar, 2 tsp milk, 1/2 tsp corn syrup and 1/4 tsp almond extract. It tasted good, but got watery and spread out when I piped it on. The cheesecake was very creamy and the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
My oven may need adjusting, but the center was still jiggly after 60 mins. I added another 30-35 and it was perfect. In any case, the flavor of this cheesecake is great. I added one extra tablespoon of amaretto and it was perfect. I made this with low fat cream cheese & low fat sour cream and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This is my hubby's favourite cake. I make it for him every birthday. I also add a bit more amaretto, I've also added almond extract when I ran out of amaretto, both tasted devine. Trick to stop cheesecake form cracking is bake in water bath I do it every cheesecake recipe and never get cracking I also baked 55 mins and left in oven for hour after turned off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This recipe was easy enough, and the flavor was good. However the cheesecake cracked horribly; it looked like a topographic map. I've made many cheesecakes and always use the water bath method, but never had one crack like this one. I don't know what could have gone wrong, but this was the first one I've ever made with fat-free cream cheese. It had cracks long before it was even done baking. I served it with a topping to improve the appearance, but I did like the flavor. I will make it again and see if I get better results next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
The flavor was great, the texture was a bit off - it was dense but watery, strange as that sounds. But the family still really liked it. Following reviewers advice, I cut the cornstarch to 1.5 T., upped the liqueur to 1/3 c. and added 1 tsp. of almond extract. Definitely needs that if you want the flavor to be strong enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Made this a few times. Very good. Worth the effort. Last time, i swirled in strawberry ice cream topping before putting in oven. Also, once, topped with caramel! VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I've become known as the cheesecake lady. I use this recipe and i add extra amaretto. i give it as a gift, i make it for holidays, and it perfect everytime. however i cant seem to keep it from cracking so i usually top it with cherry pie filly, and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ggglitch
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Very good cheesecake, but not the best Amaretto Cheesecake I've tasted/made. I followed the directions exactly with the exception of adding a bit more liqueur. The flavor of the cheesecake was phenomenal. The texture is quite dense, which I don't mind, but the cheesecake was a tad dry. Next time I will consider either using less sour cream, or adding more cream cheese. I baked for 55min, shut the oven off and left it in there for an hour before taking it out of the oven. I got rave reviews from friends and family though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ggglitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Kahlúa Pumpkin Cheesecake

See how to make a rich, marbled pumpkin cheesecake flavored with Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States