Amaretto Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
I also made it and took it to a party. Everyone loved it. Suggestion: make another batch of glaze with 2 cups of confectioners and 1/2 cup of amaretto. After removing cooled cake from pan, drizzle this thicker glaze over the top. Top it off by sprinkling sliced almonds over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I've probably baked this cake about a dozen times and it never fails to be a success!! I've learned though, that it is better to pour the glaze into the poked holes after the cake has almost cooled completely, rather than while it's still warm to prevent it from breaking apart when slicing. This is by-far the BEST cake that I've ever baked and I enjoy eating it everytime!! Thanks Shawn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Great cake! I would suggest using less amaretto in the icing if you're serving it to folks who aren't drinkers - just barely glaze the cake instead. On the other hand, if they do drink, use it all! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
Excellent cake. I used 1/2 the amaretto in the glaze they brushed it on. Then I made a second glaze to drizzle on. 1 cup powdered sugar. 2 tbs. melted butter. a few drops of almond extract and a litte water. Very easy but tastes like you slaved all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
I made this cake before "as is" and it turned out wonderful. I didn't have any vanilla pudding mix, so I decided to use chocolate. Almond and chocolate are a great pair. If you liked the original recipe, you'll LOVE the chocolatey version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
It's recipes like this that make me LOVE allrecipes.com. Note: the glaze makes this cake so good. Next time, I'm doubling the glaze and poking tons of holes in the cake to pour it into. It's amazing. Also - if you haven't tried kitchen aide silicone bakeware, you must! My cake practically jumped out of my silicone bundt pan. My boyfriend loved the cake so much that after we'd each had one slice he asked if he could take the rest home to his family so they could try it. They loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
This cake is fantastic! I made it for my mom's birthday party - everyone loved it. I used a french vanilla cake mix - all I had on hand - and dusted the top with powdered sugar since my mom doesn't like frosting or sugary glazes or anything too sweet. It was easy and looked very tempting on the plate. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
my husband recommended i crush some walnuts and pour it in the batter. it looked so delicious that i had to try it right after i took it out of the oven. my husband tried it after it cooled and he suggested i gave it another try. it was good. fyi: *cool it before you eat it. *the height of the cake is half the size of a regular bundt cake; it's short.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Very Moist. I can still tell that it's a box cake though. I would add more almond extract next time to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I turned the recipe into cupcakes, which was not a good idea. It took way more time and energy than a cake would have taken. They were still very good, but next time I will stick with a bundt cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELLE04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States