Amaretto Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I wanted to find a recipe to use up that little bit of Amaretto that had been sitting in my cupboard for about 10 yrs. and decided to try this one. Of course, I didn't have some of the listed ingredients. Here were my substitutions: one 16 oz. lemon pound cake mix (which I HIGHLY recommend - lemon + Amaretto = yum!); one 3.4 oz box of instant vanilla pudding (they make a 5.1 oz box? I debated for about half an hour whether to use two boxes or just one. I ended up erring on the side of subtlety.); and vanilla extract instead of almond. It turned out fabulous dahling! Oh, and I used an angel food cake pan as I didn't have a bundt pan. I will definitely make this cake again. (Darn! Now I have to go out and buy some more Amaretto.;>) ) A really good recipe Shawn. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This cake is delicious. The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is that I've made it 3 times and sometimes it seems to be better than others. I'm not sure what the difference is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Best cake ever! Moist and delicious! I swear I make any excuse to make this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I made this into cupcakes and while they are good, they really don't have the amaretto taste I was hoping for. I even added extra amaretto to the batter and a little extra almond extract. If I attempt this again, I would double the glaze (really the only almond flavor) and add atleast a tablespoon of almond extract. For now I'll just have to make almond flavored frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This was OK but way too chemically. That was my mistake for choosing to make a cake that required two pre-boxed ingredients, though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I made this for Mothers Day. It was gone within 48 hours. :) I'll be making this again, and again, and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This was great! I made a little thicker glaze and toned down the amaretto in the glaze. For the 1 cup of confectioner's sugar I used 3 T. of water and 1 T. of amaretto. This was so moist and had a great flavor. Will definitely be making this one again. So easy too! I would recommend to anyone. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Easy and very tasty. We prefer desserts that are not over the top sweet and this fits the bill. Plus, I usually have all the ingredients on hand. I've made it many times and friends always ask for the recipe. Bon Appetite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHYCRUST

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I made one change to this great moist cake is instead of 1/2 cup of water...use Amaretto instead. Makes a big different, much more flavor. I get many requests. I top the glaze with sliced amonds. Looks so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I was disappointed in this cake. It was very moist, but seemed to have no flavor. I thought it was a good waste of expensive Amaretto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States