Amaretto Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I substituted the Yellow Cake for French Vanilla and doubled the almond extract using 1/2 tsp. instead of 1/4 tsp. After glazing the cake I allowed it to sit for a couple of hours (and essentially harden) so that I could sift a pretty sprinkling of confectionery sugar over the top. The cake was pretty, moist and full of flavor. It was definitely on the sweet side. I have made it three times now and it has always been a hit. This Amaretto Cake is super quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDzine01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nantucket, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
very moist and very good! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Made as directed except for waiting till it was almost cool to poke holes and pour on the glaze. FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelly, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I make this every year for our winter party, however I use a spice cake mix instead of the yellow cake. It is incredibly moist and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was a yummy cake that I happened to have all the ingredients for on hand and decided to try out. I used a cherry chip box cake, sugar-free pudding mix, and substituted applesauce for about 3/4 of the vegetable oil called for. Delicious cake if you're looking for something different and like the sweetness of amaretto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
love this recipe!! It's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by embecker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Shawn thank you so much for this recipe, this is my FAVORITE cake now!!! I made this for the first time maybe 6-7 years ago and never posted a review (sorry) and it was an absolute hit!! It was so good that I made 2 more back to back. Every time I make this cake it gets gobbled down within an hour - no kidding. The cake is so moist and light, it's amazing. This is an awesome recipe, thanks again!!! My only recommendation, I am a big amaretto fan and I can absolutely taste the difference between the cheap amaretto and the more expensive. I prefer DiSaronno Amaretto, I've tried the Hiram Walker, never the DuBushon or whatever that cheapy bottle is, and the cake always tastes better with the DiSaronno. I've even tried Hiram Walker in the batter and DiSaronno in the glaze, it was good, but again, I'm an amaretto aficianado so I could taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndAQT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lace
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This cake is AWESOME! My family pretty much devoured this cake in a day. The inside is so moist and delicious. The only change I made was to double the almond extract. I had planned on making an additional glaze for the top, but it is so good on its own, there's really no need! It is so quick and easy to make since the base is a box cake mix. The soaked in Amaretto is definitely the key to this cake! Update - I have made a similar version of this cake twice in the past week for friends' b-days. I substituted chocolate cake mix (regular and devil's food), chocolate pudding, vanilla extract, and Kahlua. They both turned out so good! I would suggest doubling the extract and adding a bit more Kahlua (no more than extra 1/4 cup) for more flavor. My friends loved it! Such a great recipe and very versatile!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I ran out of amaretto and used frangelico and liked it just as much as the amaretto cake. I would make this again and again....its very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I enjoyed the cake. My cake was done after 25 minutes because I cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States