Amaretto Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Followed recipe, but mine didn't turn out moist at all. Good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
wow is this good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I substituted the Yellow Cake for French Vanilla and doubled the almond extract using 1/2 tsp. instead of 1/4 tsp. After glazing the cake I allowed it to sit for a couple of hours (and essentially harden) so that I could sift a pretty sprinkling of confectionery sugar over the top. The cake was pretty, moist and full of flavor. It was definitely on the sweet side. I have made it three times now and it has always been a hit. This Amaretto Cake is super quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDzine01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nantucket, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
very moist and very good! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Made as directed except for waiting till it was almost cool to poke holes and pour on the glaze. FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelly, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I make this every year for our winter party, however I use a spice cake mix instead of the yellow cake. It is incredibly moist and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was a yummy cake that I happened to have all the ingredients for on hand and decided to try out. I used a cherry chip box cake, sugar-free pudding mix, and substituted applesauce for about 3/4 of the vegetable oil called for. Delicious cake if you're looking for something different and like the sweetness of amaretto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
love this recipe!! It's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by embecker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Shawn thank you so much for this recipe, this is my FAVORITE cake now!!! I made this for the first time maybe 6-7 years ago and never posted a review (sorry) and it was an absolute hit!! It was so good that I made 2 more back to back. Every time I make this cake it gets gobbled down within an hour - no kidding. The cake is so moist and light, it's amazing. This is an awesome recipe, thanks again!!! My only recommendation, I am a big amaretto fan and I can absolutely taste the difference between the cheap amaretto and the more expensive. I prefer DiSaronno Amaretto, I've tried the Hiram Walker, never the DuBushon or whatever that cheapy bottle is, and the cake always tastes better with the DiSaronno. I've even tried Hiram Walker in the batter and DiSaronno in the glaze, it was good, but again, I'm an amaretto aficianado so I could taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndAQT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lace
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This cake is AWESOME! My family pretty much devoured this cake in a day. The inside is so moist and delicious. The only change I made was to double the almond extract. I had planned on making an additional glaze for the top, but it is so good on its own, there's really no need! It is so quick and easy to make since the base is a box cake mix. The soaked in Amaretto is definitely the key to this cake! Update - I have made a similar version of this cake twice in the past week for friends' b-days. I substituted chocolate cake mix (regular and devil's food), chocolate pudding, vanilla extract, and Kahlua. They both turned out so good! I would suggest doubling the extract and adding a bit more Kahlua (no more than extra 1/4 cup) for more flavor. My friends loved it! Such a great recipe and very versatile!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States