Amaretto Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Excellent cake - it got rave reviews from my group! I goofed up and put the 1/2 cup of amaretto in the cake batter accidentally, so I added two 3.2 oz vanilla pudding boxes to the batter. Despite the goof up, the cake turned out wonderful, very aromatic (needless to say!!) and moist. For the glaze, I thickened it up as others had suggested and put 2 c. powdered sugar to 1/2 cup amaretto. It turned out nice and thick but once on the cake thinned out and sunk in nicely. This is a five-star recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Nice cake, some people raved, I didn't think it was that special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettymum

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redlands, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This cake is the best! Our daughter started making it years ago and we have never changed anything about it! It is great the way it is! Since the ameretto isn't used often I get the small bottles and that works out great! Thank you Shawn from the Cookie Gram!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Wouldn't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
It got good reviews at the dinner I took the cake too. My biggest complaint is that it gets soggy - quick! Best at the first sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This cake was so good! I took another reviewer's suggestion and did the glaze with 2 cups confectioners' sugar and 1/2 cup amaretto. I roasted the almonds before putting them on the cake! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
My family loved this cake. It was excellent and very easy to make. I always add 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder to all my bundt cakes. The cake will to taller. This is just personal preference. This cake is wonderful either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I have made many box cake receipe for quickness and come across some really great ones. This recipe for me was just ok. I was expecting a lot more being a huge Amaretto fan, but this really was just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I made this cake as cupcakes using a buttercream frosting flavored with Amaretto liqueur. It was excellent. I also made a gluten free version of this using a gluten free cake mix and adding some sour cream to make it more moist. They were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Excellent recipe - loved it and so did everyone else. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Fugate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States