Amaretto Butter Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This recipe has been revised to list 1/2 cup confectioners' sugar in the ingredients list, which is creamed together with the butter in step 2 of the directions. An additional 1/2 cup confectioners' sugar is used for rolling. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I increased this recipe to make 100 servings and baked it this past weekend. I added just a little more Amaretto and a touch more sugar to the recipe. I cannot say enough about how wonderful these cookies turned out. My husband who is not a major sweet freak tried one and fell in love, because, aside from the confectioners' sugar on the outside, these are not super sweet cookies. They are just right. I will definitely be making more of these cookies in the future. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
This cookie was horrible...it was the very first thing I've ever baked that DID NOT turn out. 4 cups of icing sugar to 2 1/2 cups of flour? One batch wasted and into the garbage. Never again. Please re-check your ingredients list!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
I am sorry but these "cookies" were terrible. Lack of sugar was most noticeable. I followed recipe to a "T" and was greatly disappointed and threw them in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
These are pretty good, but really they could pass for sugar cookies. If I make them again I'll add more amaretto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I thought this seemed to be a great recipe, but unfortunately, I was out of amaretto. Instead I used cointreu, and hazelnuts instead of almonds. The cookies tasted GREAT, I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
These are very tasty and buttery. I would use less salt, maybe just 1/2 t. I definitely added the almonds, made for a nice texture-flavor combo. Instead of just rolling the cookies in powdered sugar at the end, I made a glaze for them, as you might do for an anginetti, of powdered sugar with enough Amaretto for a glaze consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These are my new favorite cookies! Absolutely AWESOME!!! I made these for Christmas and there were none left and everyone asked me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I did not care for these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Exactly what I was looking for. I used the small Papered Chef cookie scooper and baked for 8 minutes, which yielded 52. This will be a permanent addition to my Christmas Cookie list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States