Amaretto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I am really impressed with this recipe! I swapped the amounts for white and brown sugar around so my spirit is the same colour as "the original one". I also added some glycerine to get that sirope liqueur texture, don't add to much! Start with just a little and taste. Taste is really good and will improve over the weeks! Here in New Zealand you allowed to distill your own alcohol! So great to make my own almond liqueur now Thanks for sharing UPDATE 26-07-14 after a few tests I noticed that alcohol% is to low compare with the 28% amaretto from italy so I replaced the 1 cup water with alcohol (vodka) as well so three cups alcohol, no water. I don't heat it! I put everything in my Kitchen Aid machine and mix it cold for about 30 minute's so sugar is dissolved as well ( longer if needed) The alcohol I use is homebrew 40% alcohol but with all the sugar and extract you around 29% I guess. You always can the one cup water replaced with half water half alcohol if its to strong for you. Not for us living in New Zealand :-) enjoy but drink responsibly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I made this with Finlandia vodka, since it's smooth and doesn't add a distinctive taste. I had only light brown sugar, so I added a half teaspoon molasses. It didn't have that little afterbite that the real thing has, so I added a teaspoon of brandy. That did it. I gave Hubby a sample of Disaronno side by side with this, and he couldn't tell which one was the real thing! The only difference was that this is thinner. I will try a reviewer's hint to use half corn syrup and half white sugar, or boiling for five minutes next time. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
To thicken, use 1/2 the amount of white sugar & subsitute the remainder of the sugar with Karo light syrup. I do this for my Kahlua as well. Thinkens it right up. I also use brandy for my Kahlua instead of vodka - not so bitter. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Templeton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This tastes fantastic! I have made it several times now and nobody can tell I didn't buy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWINMOMLOVESFOOD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This is excellent. I will never buy the bottle stuff again. I did boil the sugar an extra minute for a thicker consistency, and it is perfect. Thank you! I will make this again.... and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffness23

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
My mother absolutely loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I tried this recipe & it doesn't taste like the original Amaretto. BRANDY is what makes it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Easy to make and tastes nice, but the Almond extract separates from the other liquid as it's in a peanut oil carrier for cooking. If you have the patience it's worth making it without the almond essence, by soaking some skinless ground almonds in the vodka for 2 months before use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Delicious! Taste great on the rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paullina, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sutherland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
It tasted like cough syrup. To make it palatable, it needed more water and the water and sugar needed to simmer (1 hour) to make the simple syrup needed for liquors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amaretto Sour Cocktail

A little sweet, a little tart, this refreshing cocktail is simply delicious.

Frosted Almond

See how to make a chilled down version of the toasted almond cocktail.

Rudy Snap Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake up a signature mezcal cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States