Amaretto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Great recipe! Easy to make and makes a great gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
OH YEA!!! This recipe is great! I am an amaretto lover. It is as good as the expensive one. The only thing I changed is......instead of just letting the sugar mixture 'cool' I CHILLED it. You probably could just make the sugar mixture and refrigerate it overnight and then continue with the recipe. Next time I will use a 'better grade' vodka but the cheap one was really good. I saved an Amaretto bottle (750 ML) and this recipe made about 1 cup more. @ more than 1/2 the price of the store stuff. Hope you all ENJOY ......... I AM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrontierCook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Very tasty. I'm not a connoisseur of commercial Amaretto, so I can't comment on how close it comes to the original, but I'll use this with pleasure. I followed the advice of a couple of reviewers and used dark brown sugar and simmered the syrup for 5 minutes to thicken it. For me, a cup and a half of vodka was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
No complexity, too sweet, thin, and artificially flavored. Besides, Drambuie is built on scotch whiskey, not vodka! And it uses honey not sugars. Scotch would bring a lot of its complexity along with it, paired with he right ingredients. But these are not them. If you're willing to spend money on expensive abstracts ans such, why not save up your pocket change and get the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
awesome recipe. great with ginger ale for a cream soda flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Hi! Ifound this receipe to be very similar to the bought variety. However I found that a lot of the oil from the extract tended to float to the top no matter how much I tried to blend it by shaking. This detracted somewhat from the appearance. I eventually poured it into a gravy separator and poured off the oil but there was stil a residual film on the top. I have to say it didn't stop me drinking it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I used this as a basic recipe to make different flavor cordials. By using flavored vodka and using different extracts I made several yummy tasting drinks for my next party.I only gave 4 stars because I didn't make the actual recipe, I scaled it to make several varieties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
It was really good! I made it with a little bit more sugar at the suggestion of someone else and I think that may have made it too sweet! I also used vanilla concentrate from Dominican Republic on the second batch and that made the flavor so much better! You can find it at any Latin American grocery store, which is easy to find here in Miami! Overall, it was good, good strong flavor, and it doesn't need as much vodka as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I REALLY ENJOYED THIS DRINK. BUT I HAD 2 CHANGE THE RECIPE A LITTLE INSTEAD OF ALMOND EXTRACT I USED 3 SLICED ALMONDS. THE ALMONDS SEEM TO MAKE IT TASTE BETTER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L. J. Gilmour
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Smelled great and tasted good. I gave these away in small corked bottles I found at a craft store. I attached a recipe for Italian Margaritas and was sure to tell recipients to store upright and use within a month or two. I'm glad I tried it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amaretto Sour Cocktail

A little sweet, a little tart, this refreshing cocktail is simply delicious.

Frosted Almond

See how to make a chilled down version of the toasted almond cocktail.

Rudy Snap Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake up a signature mezcal cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States