Amaretti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Yum! I couldn't find blanched almonds at my grocery so I substituted 2 cups of Bob's Mill Almond flour instead and mixed it all in my stand up mixer and they turned out great! Easy and very little clean-up! My gluten free kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I love the amaretti cookie. It is truly worth the reaction that you get from people. The only adjustments that I made to the recipe, was that I didn't do the almond blanching. I just bought ground almond already done. You need about 5 cups. It saves ALOT of time. Also added the 1/2 tsp. of vanilla as well as I placed one whole almond on top before going into the oven.... Happy baking eveyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
Really good!I used Splenda in these and baked them on a stoneware cookie sheet and they turned out great! A cookie I love with no butter,flour or sugar.Who would have thought???????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
I absolutely loved these! I made them for my inlaws for passover and the whole family said they were "ridiculously good"! The only change I made was to add 1/2 tsp. vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I also added 1/2t vanilla. It is best to chill dough prior to baking...cookies come out like picture. My Italian family adored these..so did my Cookie Exchange club!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This actually gets a 10! I love amaretti and this is so easy and makes wonderful cookies. I made them for Christmas and had to give most of them away. But it was so easy to make more. Try them, you'll like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYSWISKGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
My rating is not completely accurate since I didn't follow the recipe exactly. Instead of processing blanched almonds, I used Trader Joe's pure almond flour, 3 cups of it. B/c they weren't blanched, there were bits of brown skin, so it didn't turn out the smooth beige coloring in the picture. It was a little bit grainy/speckled, and the dough was really sticky for me, so I couldn't get rounded balls, they ended up looking more like coconut macroons. The flavor was really great, and I even cut down the sugar to 1 cup. I think if I use the almond flour again, I might mix a little bit of regular flour in, just to make the texture smoother. Also, I used a 1/2 tablespoon to make the cookies, which made 2 dozen, but I think it made them too big and "dense." Next time I will make them smaller, I think 1 teaspoon would be perfect. I'm still looking for a recipe similar to the AMAZING amaretti I had in Venice, Italy!! Flavor was there, but texture was not what I was looking for, but it was probably the adjustments I made. If you like the texture of coconut macroons, then this is it, but almond flavored!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is my favorite cookie. I was excited to find this recipe because the amaretti importied from Italy are so expensive. I used 2-1/2 cups of almond meal/flour made by Bob's Red Mill. I scooped the dough with a small melon baller and then dipped the top in turbinado sugar. Yum! Thanks for the great recipe, Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2005
Made these yesterday for my granddaughter's Italian dessert project at school. I love macaroons anyway but these are delish and so easy to make. The only thing I added was to place 2 slivered almonds on top of each cookie before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAUGHN15

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elball
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe tasted the closest to the amaretti cookies my parents' used to get from the Italian bakery. The dense texture was great. I only gave it four stars because the oven times were really off for me. It took closer to an hour for a batch to start to brown. If you want chewy cookies that stay chewy, use rounded balls and do NOT flatten them as they are in some of the photos. I made a batch of rounded balls and one with flatter cookies and a day later the flatter ones are really hard -- great for dunking in coffee or tea, but not for eating solo. The rounded ones are still nice and chewy on the inside -- perfect! The substitution I made was to use a 16 oz. bag of Bob's Red Mill Almond Flour instead of grinding slivered almonds. I may use less almond flour next time as I like my amaretti a little sweeter than these came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States