Amaretti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I thought these little cookies were the best!! I don't have a food processer so I used the almond flour. I put them in the fridge for half hour before rolling into little balls....super easy and very good.I put Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I make these all the time, according to this recipe, except I add vanilla and almond flavoring. This is a very traditional Greek recipe, called in Greek, Amigdalota (amigdalo is almond). The amaretti I have had are much lighter and crispier, and not chewy at all. I love those also, but the chewy texture of these is what is really appealing about them. Many people said they are too sweet, but that just goes with the territory for this type of cookie. The proportion of sugar to egg white to almond powder is necessary to get the right texture. Lastly, I buy blanched slivered almonds at Trader Joe's and pulverize them in my VitaMix. It is the only way I know to get them fine enough for the proper texture. A food processor doesn't do it. I cannot find almond flour, but I imagine that would work great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
a good way to use up egg whites. These taste good with tea or coffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Love the flavor and texture of these. Very easy to make. I added half a candied cherry and they look so festive for the holidays. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
These are amazingly tasty. You will get many ohhs and ahhs serving these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama-mimosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I used 2 cups almond powder and used only half of the sugar measurement from original recipe. The batter doesn't form dough but thicj\k paste. So I put it in a medium zipper bag, cut the edge and piped it out into small size paper cups. I baked at 150 C for 25 mins and it turned out good. Will do it again when I have plenty almond powder at home because almonds expensive in my country :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
These are very good but too sweet. I would try 1 c. sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Easy and delicious. I rolled them in sugar cinnamon mixture before baking- couldn't keep them in the cookie jar!! My celiac relatives loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Absolutely delicious! As the sugar melts, it creates a crispy, caramelized crust on the bottom, which not only adds texture, but flavor. Crispy on the outside, but crunchy in the middle. These have become a staple of mine, which I have messed with bit too (added hazelnuts once, orange zest, fresh vanilla, etc.). You can't really go wrong! Another perk is how easy they are! Quick, and virtually no dishes :) Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is a great little cookie. I too substituted almond meal and found about 3 cups worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States