Alyson's Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I've made this many times, and love it!! I use dried cranberries in place of the raisins, yummy even though the color runs (If I make ahead, I just add te cranberries when I serve, to avoid this, but if it's just me eating it, I don't worry about it, still tastes good with pinkish dressing!) I use honey in place of the sugar, and always low-fat mayo....calorie conscious. Also, sliced almonds in place of the sunflower seeds are great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
All of the ingredients in this salad taste so good together! I use apple cider vinegar instead of white wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Delicious. I made a vegetarian version and used plain white vinegar, but other than that stuck to the recipe. Love the textures and flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
so good! i did not expect the combo of mayo, sugar and vinegar to work so well together. the only things i tweaked was adding less sugar and adding in a larger variety of vegetables such as: mushrooms and tomatoes. i also decided to put a generous amount of Parmesan cheese to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This is a great recipe! It's nice for a picnic or a potluck. I am making it this Sunday when we visit my in-laws. Very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Great but I have never used sunflower seeds for this one. Also my wife wasn't too crazy about the raisins in this one so I omitted after the first time; still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
The great thing about this recipe is its versatility. It is very good as written and it gives you a good base to start with and lends itself beautifully to your personal tastes. Over the years we've made this a dozen different ways. Any chopped nut can be substituted for the sunflower seeds. Craisins, dried cherries, dried bleuberries for the raisins. Flavored bacon, maple or hickory - or plain. Green or yellow onion instead of red - or simply leave it out if you are anti-onion. Cauliflower and broccoli. Change the vinegar to suit your tastes - red or white wine, rice or cider. A little less sugar, a bit more vinegar, thin the mayo a bit more with a little milk - you can easily make this your own. That makes it a great addition to your recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Too sweet... otherwise really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
WOW!!! I made this salad for a BBQ this week...what a winner! I put some aside for us to have for later. I realized that after marinading in the refrigerator for an extra day in its own juices, it was better. I substituted Craisins(dried cranberries) for the regular raisins...that was great replacement. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I made this for my very anti-veggie family, it was wolfed down by the whole lot of them!! They couldn't get enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States