Alyson's Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
This is good. I have taken this recipe to many functions. Everyone loves it! For variety, I eliminate the raisins and sunflower seeds and use red seedless grapes, halved and toasted almond slivers. Yummy!I get lots of requests for the recipe even from my husbands fishing buddies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
This has been one of my favorite salads for a couple of years. I'm not a raisin fan, but in this salad, with the blend of the onion, the bacon, and the sweet-sour dressing, the taste is wonderful. The only thing I do differently is use pine nuts. I prefer the flavor of pine nuts, and they are larger and don't seem to stick to the bowl as much as the sunflower seeds do. I have even used sliced almonds as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
I have made this salad for years.....without the raisins and sesame seeds. It is always a hit! Another suggestion, if you are trying to cut out sugar, make it with "Splenda" sweetner---tastes the same without the extra carbs/sugar!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Every time I make this I print out a few copies because everyone that tries it asks for the recipe. That way I can just hand it over. I am always asked to make this for potluck bbqs. I leave out the bacon for less fat and use red wine vinegar. Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 4everLuuvd
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
YUM!!! I had been looking for a recipe like the Deli Broccoli salad I enjoy. THIS IS IT, YAY! My husband said he could have used lighter on the red onions, but I LOVED IT JUST THE WAY IT WAS. I can see how you can change this to your own taste. THIS IS A GREAT RECIPE to start with. LIKE IT as is and LIKE it if you change per your favorite taste! GREAT RECIPE, DO TRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4everLuuvd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
I usually just buy this from a grocery store but thought I'd try your recipe for the holiday weekend. I adjusted some of the amounts a bit and it came out great. I used 5 cups of bite size broccoli, 3 Tbl sugar, only 1 TBL vinegar and only 1/2 c. sunflower seeds. I also tried the already cooked bacon and heated it up to get a bit more crisp,worked out good. Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
Every time I take this dish to a potluck I am begged for the recipe. It is super easy to make and I really don't make any adjustments to it at all. I don't even know how it tastes since I don't eat raw broccoli, but it should say something if it turns out great and I don't even taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Great recipe! Huge hit with the family at Thanksgiving - both my aunt and mom asked for the recipe. A few tips: slice the bacon in narrow strips before cooking to avoid having to crumble the hot, greasy bacon. Also, I lightly steamed the broccoli to take the raw 'edge' off. Be sure not to overcook it - this recipe needs the broccoli crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
My husband and I made this for our Christmas Eve banquet style dinner and it was a huge hit! Everyone loved it. Because we had so much food leftover, we ate it again 2 days later and it was even better, sitting for 2 days. Will definetly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
Been making this salad without the sunflower seeds for years..people are skeptical, but it's always a huge hit. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States