Alyson's Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Broccoli is not my favorite veggie, but this was fantastic! Had to modify it a little bit based on what I had on hand - even health-ified it with light mayo and turkey bacon - and it was still fantactic. Almost like broccoli slaw, but with some added kick. Brought it to work for lunch several days, and people were very interested in what I was eating and asked for the recipe. A lovely summer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I loved it! But of course I did make just a few changes. I am not a fan of raisins, so used some fresh black figs for sweetness, since that's what I had. I also added turkey bacon, which doesn't quite crumble..so I sliced it into small pieces. Next time I think that fresh grapes would be a perfect compliment to this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I actually modified. I didn't have enough broccoli, so I added finely sliced celery, instead of a full cup of mayo, I used half w/ half low fat Greek yogurt. In place of raisins, I used finely chopped dates (w/a dash of cornstarch so they wouldn't stick) and I used the sesame seed dressing from Costco. Overall, amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Such a great potluck crowd pleaser. If you have anyone in your fam who doesn't like raisins (like mine), try using diced strawberries or halved grapes instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I make this salad all the time and my boyfriend LOVES it! Instead of raisins, i use dried cranberries..and to be a little healthier, I use turkey bacon or leave it out completely! carrots are a great addition too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Yummy! Just whipped this up for dinner! made a few alterations, I didnt use bacon (vegetarian) or sunflower seeds, I also used craisans instead of raisans and added chick peas...Sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
So delicious! I followed the recipe as written using hickory smoked bacon. This was one of two different broccoli salads at a BBQ, and it was the one that everyone was raving about. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I love this with a few changes, I add celery and green onions instead of red onion I also add grape halves and slivered almonds instead of sunflower seeds, delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I had many people asking for the recipe. I altered the recipe. I blanched the broccoli then let it cooleid. I added a cup of shredded carrots and 1/4 cup of red onion. I omitted the bacon. In substitution,I added 1/4 cup of McCormick's Salad Toppins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
THE ONIONS WERE OVERPOWERING AND DIDN'T LIKE THE VINEGAR. I would prefer using a prepared dressing like Marie's blue cheese or parmessan or ranch instead of the sugar vinegar mix. liked the raisins (or craisins) and bacon though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States