Alyson's Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This is a great salad! One change I make is to use a flavored vinegar. I have an apple lime vinegar that is fabulous mixed with the mayo and sugar and gives it a nice sweet/tangy taste. I also like to use red or black grapes cut in half instead of the raisins. I also blanch the broccoli; Literally dump in boiling water, stir 10 sec, drain, rinse in cold water and pat dry. This gives the broccoli and very bright green color and just a slightly more tender bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This was very good. I didnt have white wine vinegar so I used half white vinegar and half dry white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I took this to a potluck this weekend and it was a HIT! I used craisins instead of the raisins. Otherwise, followed the recipe. Perfect sweet/tangy combo in the dressing. I hadn't made this for years and it was fun to bring to our party. Glad I found this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Loved this recipe! Finally found one we like. I am an avid reader of reviews because they give me the confidence to make slight changes. And I love this site and the participants! We are having a buffet for a crowd so am trying different salad recipes. I omitted the raisins and onion and as a reader suggested, we used white vinegar since we did not have "white wine" It was still great. My husband who is not a salad person said "this one is a keepr". That says alot everybody!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Great recipe! Just made some minor adjustments, but I'm sure it would have been great the way it is written as well. We used less bacon (5 Slices) - and it still had that smokey salty flavor. Also used olive oil mayo to health it up a little! I had a mix of roasted sunflower and pumpkin seeds at home already - so just used that mix in recipe - seemed to work well in recipe. Recipe was devoured by family of 3 in two days - and even 10 year old asked for seconds. We consider that a success! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This is the second broccoli salad I've tried from this site and both are equally good. I would say the dressing for this one is more on the simple side. With this recipe, I had used red grapes instead of raisins and added a sprinkle of shredded cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
We really loved this with red grapes in place of the raisins. Cut the broccoli in small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
GREAT! I fixed this the other night for my boyfriends family and they loved it. I did take the advice of Discobunny and used red seedless grapes. I also used lite mayonnaise and saltless sunflower seeds, for people with special diets. I also used the advice of putting some bacon in it the night before. (I used thick sliced bacon). Will make again. Thanks for a GREAT new dish 0(*@*)0
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is very good, the only thing I changed was, I left out the raisins, and added chopped boiled eggs and shredded cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Alabama, USA
Living In: West Blocton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I am asked to make this for several events throughout the year. I use two heads of broccoli and dried cranberries instead of raisins. Add the dressing SPARINGLY. If you add too much it will be soggy...But this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Nat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,053) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States