Alyson's Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This was just okay. I followed the recipe exactly. the sauce was okay. Although I love sunflower seeds, i thought there were way too many and overpowering. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
this is an EXCELLENT SALAD! I wouldn't get carried away with putting too much in it ..I'd stick to the basics...I just added chopped raw broccoli, diced Spanish onions(I think red onions a little too strong for this recipe)and bacon fried crispy (crumbled). I added everything at once and its PERFECT! P.S. I did add 2 tbls honey instead of sugar in mayo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Great tasting salad! I substituted dried cranberries for the raisins and stevia 1 tbsp for the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Sub dried cranberries, blueberries for Raisins, and sub toasted pine nuts for sunflower seeds. Takes it to a new level...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I love this recipe, and so does everyone I have served it to! I have also used grapes or apples instead of raisins, depending what I have on hand. Always turns out great! I use honey in place of the sugar simply as my preference to avoid refined sugar and I use Apple Cider vinegar instead of wine vinegar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Every one I make this recipe for raves about it and wants me to make it again. I put grapes instead of raisins. ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This a wonderful salad! Though many suggested using red grapes (which I will try later), I found the simple dark raisins worked well too. So very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Amazinggggg!!! Had 9 adults over for dinner and EVERYONE loved this! Best part is that is can (and should) be made the night before so the flavors mix and the broccoli can soften a bit... One less dish to make the day of the party! I cheated too... I bought 'real' bacon bits. I'll definitely be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
My husband went back for THIRDS,and he does not like broccoli! So this one is a keeper. I didn't have few ingredients. I had to substitute green grapes for the red, the sunflower seeds for slivered almonds, and yellow onions for the red. It was still wonderful! I also recognized the dressing as my mother's coleslaw dressing that we have made for years. This was a wonderful twist on that flavor that the family has always loved. I will definitely make it again with the proper ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Shaw Ardman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Great recipe as is, been using it for years. For our preference I use less mayo, apple cider vinegar, cranraisins, small cubes of cheese. Also a mixture of toasted sunflower and pumpkin seeds. I like Costcos broccoli tops, blanch briefly, run in cold water and spin dry. Always add turkey bacon at the end to maintain crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,047) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States