Always Juicy Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Hi there! I am the self professed foodie who submitted this recipe, and there is an error in the brown sugar amount. It should read 2 TBSP, and not 1/2tsp. Not sure why that happened, but happy people have been enjoying our family favourite ham! Just made it for our Easter dinner, and everyone left the table very content! Thanks for the wonderful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bitsybites

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I just made this and it is so good! Even my 6 year old who puts ketchup on everything said it was good and didn't put any on hers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Loved it! I used a can and a half of beer, almost 1/3 cup dijon and a large handful of brown sugar for an 8.5 pound ham and turned out great! Plenty of juice in the pan to keep it moist. I cooked mine a bit longer, but otherwise, great simple recipe to start with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Reduced the amount of sauce to about 1/4 of the total amount and use over a large ham steak. WOW!! what an improvement
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WASOSB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Frontenac, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Thank you for this recipe, my family loved this! I am making it for the 2nd time today. Makes great sandwiches too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I used a dark beer - Negro Modelo and it made the best ham ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I will try this again as the results may have been my fault. My ham came out very tasty, but not juicy. It was dry, almost like a country ham. But, I did not read where I was suppose to continue to baste it after covering it with foil. And I did cook the ham face up as opposed to face down like the package directions on my ham stated. Unfortunately, a lot of it was wasted and thrown out. Was even too dry for sandwiches. I had a 10lb ham, so maybe I overcooked it.... Worth the try and will update after making again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I am a big fan of Allrecipes. I made a 10lb ham and used an IPA beer and followed the recipe. I basted frequently so I baked at 350 and 375 because of the heat loss of oven opening. I also baked cut side up but was hesitant doing so. Ham was delicious and very moist. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
My wife and I did not like it. We don't like beer. That must have been the reason. It tasted bitter I think. After washing each slice and cutting away the outside from each slice it tasted good enough to eat. I'll use 16oz bottle of cola next time instead of beer sugar and mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States