Always A Winner Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Great- but please, please change this picture.... doesn't make the salad look very appetizing.... just a suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I'll go back to my own potato salad recipe which I've made for 40 years. Similar to this recipe, I put in generous amounts of chopped dill pickle, some chopped onion, eggs; bind it together with Miracle Whip-type salad dressing - and I always get compliments. However, last night, not one of the 8 guests said a word about Always a Winner Potato Salad, and certainly nobody had seconds. I followed the recipe to a tee. You just can't taste the shrimp, and I used more than called for in the recipe. It's a waste of shrimp - I wanted to like it but won't bother again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Loved it! I used frozen, jumbo shrimp instead of the canned because I think it has more flavor and several reviews complained you could not taste the shrimp. I just steamed the shrimp and chopped coursely so there were pretty large chunks in it. I definitely could taste the shrimp, but I only used half the paprika and ommitted the celery salt because I didn't have any. I also made my potato dices very, very tiny. I also used regular white onion instead of green scallion, I will try it with the green next time, but it was still very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I really like the mix of pickles and green onions. I put bacon in instead of shrimp the first time I made it, and in the second time I made it, I did not add either bacon or shrimp and it was still good. The size of the potato pieces I think make or break the salad. I cut them reasonably small the first time so every bite had a real mix of flavours. The second time, my husband did the potatoes and cut them in fair size chunks so many times, one just got a bite full of potato which wasn't very exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam R-H

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Karen, Nairobi, Kenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I took a lot of liberty with this recipe. I made it a while ago for a picnic, so I cannot remember off hand exactly what I added/left out. I was excited to try it because I had never thought to add shrimp or pickles to potato salad. I even used a bag of full-sized shrimp, but their taste was pretty much masked by all the other strong flavors, so I probably won't waste money for shrimp in potato salad in the future. I did, however, love the taste/crunch added by the dill pickles and I will make a habit of using them in potato salad in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Alright, here we go. I read all of the reviews of this recipe, took them all into account, then ended up making the recipe exactly as written, anyway, and here's what I came up with. Yes, there's alot of paprika, but I like paprika, and the odd color only adds intrigue. Yes there are alot off eggs, and pickles, and yes, an abudence of celery salt, and I'll give you that you don't really get a strong shrimp taste. But! Put all of those factors together, throw 'em all in a bowl, and add two, (yes, two) cups of mayo, and you've got yourself a potato salad that's off-beat, mysterious, and strangely unimitable. At the end, my guests were eating directly out of the bowl. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammie C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I made this for a picnic a while back but forgot to post, Nonetheless I really liked how well it went. It goes well at potlucks I did have to add a bit more mayo and There were some concerns with the color (paprika turned it reddish) it was liked by others all around. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Persia, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
We weren't thrilled with this. I think cutting the celery salt and paprika in half and adding some garlic powder might help, but don't think I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
If this tastes half as good after being chilled, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUILTINWAYNE
Home Town: Green Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States