Always A Winner Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
We grilled this last night for dinner. I cut this in half for three chicken breasts and used fresh garlic for the garlic powder and followed it exactly. I let it marinate for 8 hours. I guess I have to say "less is more" with this recipe. There are just too many spices competing with one another and in the end the chili flavor won. Sometimes the simplest marinades make for the best dishes in the end. You don't have to mix so many things together to get a great tasting piece of meat. It was worth a try, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Definitely a winner! Used 2 small limes and no white wine (didn't have). Nixed the cinnamon. Skipped the flakes and did 2 pinches of the cayenne. I only marinated for 1 hour. Did 3 breasts with the full amounts of marinade. Pounded down the breasts so they cook faster. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatloaf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
i really loved this marinade! its alot of differant and random spices to be thrown together but it really makes the ckn turn out with a great flavor and so juicy. my husband is more of a steak guy so its hard to please him with chn but he loved this recipe. the only thing i really did differant was use lemon juice instead of the lime (it was in my fridge already and it kept me from making a trip to the store for a lime)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I used boned chicken breasts. They were very, very juicy, but not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Tasty and easy to make, I might alter this some next time to get a bit more spice. But if you grill extra the taste will go with so many other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This was the BEST marinade I've made! I followed the recipe exactly only omitting the white wine because I didn't have any. I will definitely be making this again. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
really loved this marinade! i basted the chicken every half hour then towards the end every 15min. after the chicken was done i boiled the marinade let it cool and added it to some ranch dressing to dip the chicken in and it was fantastic!!!! we really loved this and i will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Pretty good but next time I would cut back on the cumin. I also felt that there were too many unnecessary complex flavors when it could've been just as good with only half the spices. Still, pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Even though I ommitted the spicy hot ingredients so that my toddlers would eat it, this was still pretty yummy. The ingredient list is long, but mostly spices so goes together quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States