Alsatian Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I gave this 5 stars because it's the real thing, just like I had in France! I made some changes because of what I had on hand. I used a 32-jar of sauerkraut, a golden delicious apple, no juniper berries, no pork chops and no fresh parsley. Instead of making a spice bag, I just added freshly ground black papper, one shake of ground cloves, and a teaspoon of dried parsley flakes directly into the pot. I used hot dogs for the meat, added the cooked bacon, and used about 8 peeled and quartered red potatoes, let it simmer about an hour and a half, and it all came out delicious. Great recipe! Thanks 4Nancy! Next time I'll follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMIK124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I found that by the time my potatoes were finished cooking, the pork was very dry. I omitted the apple and juniper berries and used ground pepper and cloves instead of whole. I put the chopped onion in with the sauerkraut, sugar, and broth and I crumbled the bacon and put it in 10 minutes before I took it off the stove. I think that I would make this again but without pork. It was very good with just the sausage and sauerkraut and potatoes. Also, I looove the taste of sauerkraut so I think I will add more next time and omit the brown sugar to keep it tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nancygibson33@gmail.com
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
excellent just like the French make it!!! If you follow the recipe.....it will come out perfect. You may need more Chicken broth if your pot is very full. To the lady that didn't have good results.....you didn't follow the recipe correctly. I hope you will try it again and follow to a tee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancygibson33@gmail.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Recipes for this classic Choucroute Garnie are as varied and as plentiful as there are cooks to prepare it. This simplified, streamlined version was easy to prepare and a hit with both me and Hubs tonight. But I made it even simpler! First, I had sausage on hand, and that was plenty for us – I didn’t bother with the smoked pork chops tho’ they are definitely a worthwhile addition. I simplified the wrapping of the seasoning and aromatics by simply stuffing them in a tea ball. Finally, after sautéing the onions I threw everything in the Crock Pot except for the sausage and let it go for several hours. I used less broth than called for, pouring just enough to barely cover the potatoes and sauerkraut along with a good glug of white wine (I used Chardonnay). I used every ingredient called for but skipped the apples as both of us were good without it. An hour before I planned to serve dinner I tossed in the sausage, some nice knockwurst from Milwaukee’s famous Usinger’s. This is a lovely, full-flavored and satisfying dish. It also works well using a variety of meats and sausages but traditionally it all must be pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Very tasty served with rye bread with butter on the side( great to soak up the juices). I replaced the juniper berries with 1.5 tsp of caraway seeds and used ground cloves , ground malabar black pepper and dried parsley as that is what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I created an account just to review this. This recipe is one of the best I've used from this site. I didn't use the Juniper berries as I couldn't find them, so I substituted a fresh Rosemary sprig instead. Also, I didn't use a spice bag and just put the spices directly into the pot. Tender pork chops, sweat tart kraut, crispy salty bacon, and the potatoes, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Delicious! I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but used what I had on hand and everything was great, and a hit with the family. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I LOVE SAUERKRAUT AND PORK BUT THIS TURNED OUT SO BAD WE COULDN'T EVEN EAT IT. I DON'T KNOW WHY, I'VE MADE SIMILAR RECIPES BEFORE THAT WERE GOOD, BUT THIS TURNED INTO A BIG WASTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States