Al's Sufferin' Succotash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
The missing "something" is 1 C cream instead of 1 C water, 3T butter instead of 1! I make it all the time, and it's just like MY Mother made 'cause I use her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Succotash is a favorite of mine. I make it using the cream and butter combination as suggested. Just before serving, stir in a pinch (just a pinch)of fresh ground nutmeg. That's the way my granmother made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This is the best succotash recipe I've ever made. I made no changes, and my whole family loved it. Green chilis are one of my favorite ingredients, and I never would have thought to add them to succotash. This will definately be a regular. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4mygirls
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This was GREAT!!! So simple! So tasty! I am NOT a big lima bean fan, but my husband is, so I tried this recipe for him. He loved it and so did I. I will gladly eat my lima beans from now on if they are prepared like this. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
This was really good I used the other reviewers idea and added 3tbsp of butter and some cream very yummy and a great way to sneak in great tasting veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe instructed (except frozen corn instead of canned because that's what I had on hand) and it was great. My family liked it, too. I noticed other reviews mentioned adding some sort of cream...I'm not from the South so I'm not sure what Succotash is "supposed" to taste like. Recipe as is, including the optional tablespoon of butter at the end, was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Yummy! I added 2 more Tbsp. butter and also added about 1/2 cup of evaporated milk (I would have added cream, but didn't have any on hand) and let that reduce until thick. (I like my succotash creamy.) Hubby and I loved this dish!! I'm already craving it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMSGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Being low on groceries and receiving a last minute invitation to a dinner party, these are about the only ingredients I could scrape up. I guess you could say I made the dish by default. Anyway, it was a hit at the party. 1/2 the people went back for more and the other might have too, but the dish was empty by then. I used half and half instead of water and added more butter as suggested. I'll happily make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustForFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Nice combination of sweet and a little spicy. It was low maintenance to prepare and cheap as well. I did add butter and I feel it was necessary and gave it a little bit of richness that it would otherwise have missed. Worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sleepingKelly
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This was good. I was sort of standoffish at first, but the longer it cooked with the chilies, the better it was. I used splenda instead of sugar to cut out the extra calories. Even my anti-lima bean boyfriend liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

How to Make Succotash

See how to make sensational, suffer-free succotash.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States