Al's Sufferin' Succotash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
This was quite good, it was missing something, but I'm not quite sure what. Other than that mysterious something it tasted like the succotash my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
The missing "something" is 1 C cream instead of 1 C water, 3T butter instead of 1! I make it all the time, and it's just like MY Mother made 'cause I use her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Not good. I think you really have to LOVE lima beans. And I guess I don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
This was really good I used the other reviewers idea and added 3tbsp of butter and some cream very yummy and a great way to sneak in great tasting veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This was GREAT!!! So simple! So tasty! I am NOT a big lima bean fan, but my husband is, so I tried this recipe for him. He loved it and so did I. I will gladly eat my lima beans from now on if they are prepared like this. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Succotash is a favorite of mine. I make it using the cream and butter combination as suggested. Just before serving, stir in a pinch (just a pinch)of fresh ground nutmeg. That's the way my granmother made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sleepingKelly
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This was good. I was sort of standoffish at first, but the longer it cooked with the chilies, the better it was. I used splenda instead of sugar to cut out the extra calories. Even my anti-lima bean boyfriend liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
We live in the midwest and have never had succotash before. What a delightful sidedish! This recipe makes many servings, so I froze some for another date. Very tasty...who knew lima beans could be good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This is the best succotash recipe I've ever made. I made no changes, and my whole family loved it. Green chilis are one of my favorite ingredients, and I never would have thought to add them to succotash. This will definately be a regular. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4mygirls
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This was very good. I cooked frozen lima beans in water/sugar/salt for 15 minutes. The water nearly evaporated toward the end. So I added some 1/2 and 1/2 cream and 1.5 T butter. It was sweet. My 6-year-old had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOGGATT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

How to Make Succotash

See how to make sensational, suffer-free succotash.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States