Alpine Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I went to swissterland this past summer and when i asked how do you make the food tast so good they told me add more butter,more cream, more chesse and more milk. This recipie to add more and it will be even better then it all ready is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doc Simonson
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This was very good, and it makes me sad that I messed up in following the directions. I peeled the potatoes before boiling. I thought I would save some time. Bad idea. If I had left the potatoes in their jackets, they would have cooked evenly. Taking the peel off promotes the outside cooking far more quickly than the inside and it turns to mush. I had to cut the cooking time and slice them up. So I had under cooked potato in this otherwise lovely dish. The flavor is outstanding! I would recommend browning the onions just slightly. The extra flavor adds great depth. This is a real keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Made as directed. Not Horrible but definitely not good, whenever we make casseroles in our house, we have them for leftovers the next day, we Did not save the leftovers from this!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
We just got back from Switzerland and had this dish. It was made with the noodles and potatoes, but the onions were served carmelized on top. Excellent! I liked it so much, I came to here in search of the recipe! Can't wait to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Great recipe….My aunt from Switzerland makes it with 3 cups of cheese and no heavy cream. She uses Emmentaler Swiss cheese, Gruyere and Jarlseberg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Since you slice the potatoes anyway, I scrubbed and sliced them before boiling and it only took 10 minutes, then kept the skin on for nutrition. I boiled the noodles only 4 minutes knowing they would cook more in the oven anyway with the added liquid. I used 1/3 c Wisconsin Brick cheese and 1/3 c Fontina and only 1/4 c Gruyere. I had only milk, so I didn't use heavy cream. I baked it covered for 45 min at 350 and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Delish! Made this for my work holiday party and everyone asked for the recipe. Wasn't crazy about the apple sauce but the crunchy onions are a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
We all enjoyed this unusual and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Hi - this is my recipe but I think the folks at allrecipes.com altered it a bit. The cheese should be increased as one of you mentioned - and the chunky applesauce and crunchy onions on top are a must for flavor!! Hope this helps :) - Shannon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I thought this was good! Maybe a little bland...next time I will use 1 cup of Gruyere AND 1 cup of Emmentaller cheese, plus lots of salt and pepper! There were a lot of onions as is, but i did top with applesauce to serve..yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Breckenridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States