Alphabet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was basic and I added some herbs in the end but it was a ton of fun, brought back great memories from when I was a kid and thought life couldn't get any better than Campbell's, and I have no complaints. Thanks for the wonderful trip down memory lane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
After reading other reviews saying this was kind of bland I made a few modifications - I used 3 extra large beef bouillon cubes and just threw them in the soup without dissolving them at all and I cut the water to only 6 cups total, 9 cups seems excessive and I wonder if the original poster meant to take 3 of the 6 to dissolve the beef cubes? With the modifications, my family loved this soup including my 3 year old. A great winter time addition that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This is basically the same as the way I make vegetable and beef soup. Using the vegetable juice was recommended to me by a nutritionist years ago. You can use any combination of veggies that you want, cover it with the juice and you have a great soup. I usually use frozen mixed veggies, add potatoes, onions, garlic, sometimes cans of black eyed peas, white acre field peas, butter beans, or just about anything you might have in the pantry. I generally just cook up some ground beef, or some chicken to add to it. Season it the way you like it. Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This is yummy, economical and super easy. This could also be easily adapted to individual tastes. For example, i used just regular generic brand vegetable juice. Next time I think I'm gonna cut down the amount of meat. All in all- very delicious- especially for a chilly day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This was a very easy dinner to make. All three of my kids liked it just the way it is. We also had a lot left over. That is always good in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Wow...what a great and easy-to-make soup! I usually make changes to the recipe based on previous reviews or what I think might be better, but this one is wonderful just the way it is. We all loved it. Even my 4-year-old gobbled it up, and I was afraid he wouldn't like the spicy vegetable juice in it. He does like salsa, though, so if your young one really doesn't like spicy foods you could easily use regular vegetable juice instead. Unlike some previous reviewers, we didn't find the soup bland at all (and we like lots of flavor)...maybe because I used Better Than Bouillon brand Beef Base (comes in a jar) and then plenty of salt and pepper at the end. Thanks for a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
My picky husband really liked this soup, even with all the veggies, but I found it bland. Although the V-8 added some heat, the flavored lacked body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
I didn't like the strength of the V-8 juice. I think it would probably be better with regular tomato juice. I added a bit of extra water and cheddar cheese melted in and it was much better the second time around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Kids actually liked this a lot! I wasn't paying close enough attention to the recipe so ended up with this- 3 cans regular V8, 6 c water, 2 tubes beef boullion, 1lb. ground beef, and a half a bag frozen mix veggies w/corn, green beans, peas, and carrots. seasoning salt and Mrs. Dash. Served with a little grated parmesan cheese on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
awesome!! there was none left, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha Tucker Fultz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States