Alphabet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This is yummy, economical and super easy. This could also be easily adapted to individual tastes. For example, i used just regular generic brand vegetable juice. Next time I think I'm gonna cut down the amount of meat. All in all- very delicious- especially for a chilly day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
I didn't like the strength of the V-8 juice. I think it would probably be better with regular tomato juice. I added a bit of extra water and cheddar cheese melted in and it was much better the second time around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
awesome!! there was none left, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spretney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
My picky husband really liked this soup, even with all the veggies, but I found it bland. Although the V-8 added some heat, the flavored lacked body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I saw this recipe and had to try it! I used a can of kidney beans and a can of great northern beans instead of the meat, added a peeled, diced potato and a brick of frozen chopped spinach, and only used about 2 cups frozen veggies because that's all I had. I also added a generous dash of garlic powder and used 3 cups seashell pasta because the store didn't have alphabets. It is so delicious! I found the flavor to be quite full and well rounded, you just have to add salt. My boyfriend who doesn't even like soup, much less vegetable soup, liked it too. This is a good thing because it makes a ton. In spite of my changes, I'm sure this would have been just as good if left alone. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This was a delicious soup that both my toddler boys and myself enjoyed. The only variatio I put was to add garlic and onion when cooking the beef and used whole grain pasta instead of alphabet noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
My boys enjoyed this. I found it rather bland. I did use beans instead of the meat. It makes a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This is basically the same as the way I make vegetable and beef soup. Using the vegetable juice was recommended to me by a nutritionist years ago. You can use any combination of veggies that you want, cover it with the juice and you have a great soup. I usually use frozen mixed veggies, add potatoes, onions, garlic, sometimes cans of black eyed peas, white acre field peas, butter beans, or just about anything you might have in the pantry. I generally just cook up some ground beef, or some chicken to add to it. Season it the way you like it. Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
What a healthy soup! I used ground venison and 99% fat free beef broth. Wonderful flavor and so many vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Wow...what a great and easy-to-make soup! I usually make changes to the recipe based on previous reviews or what I think might be better, but this one is wonderful just the way it is. We all loved it. Even my 4-year-old gobbled it up, and I was afraid he wouldn't like the spicy vegetable juice in it. He does like salsa, though, so if your young one really doesn't like spicy foods you could easily use regular vegetable juice instead. Unlike some previous reviewers, we didn't find the soup bland at all (and we like lots of flavor)...maybe because I used Better Than Bouillon brand Beef Base (comes in a jar) and then plenty of salt and pepper at the end. Thanks for a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States