Alphabet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
The only change I made was to reduce the water by 2 cups. It made for a thick, hearty flavorful soup that everyone in my family enjoyed! My younger daughter and I kept the "secret" ingredient (spicy V8) a secret... or my older daughter would never try something with a "hot and spicy" ingredient. She was fooled and loved it. It made a great dinner, next day lunches for the kids, and plenty to freeze for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was a very good and easy soup. I really liked the kick the spicy V8 added. My older son never eats veggies, he ate everything in his bowl! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY5473

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grandview, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was basic and I added some herbs in the end but it was a ton of fun, brought back great memories from when I was a kid and thought life couldn't get any better than Campbell's, and I have no complaints. Thanks for the wonderful trip down memory lane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Kids actually liked this a lot! I wasn't paying close enough attention to the recipe so ended up with this- 3 cans regular V8, 6 c water, 2 tubes beef boullion, 1lb. ground beef, and a half a bag frozen mix veggies w/corn, green beans, peas, and carrots. seasoning salt and Mrs. Dash. Served with a little grated parmesan cheese on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
After reading other reviews saying this was kind of bland I made a few modifications - I used 3 extra large beef bouillon cubes and just threw them in the soup without dissolving them at all and I cut the water to only 6 cups total, 9 cups seems excessive and I wonder if the original poster meant to take 3 of the 6 to dissolve the beef cubes? With the modifications, my family loved this soup including my 3 year old. A great winter time addition that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I thought this was good! ONly change I made was to add a can of kidney beans. My husband thinks it needed more flavor - maybe add tabasco next time. I overcooked the noodles - only needs 20 minutes max for simmer! Otherwise it was a good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This was a very easy dinner to make. All three of my kids liked it just the way it is. We also had a lot left over. That is always good in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Wow...what a great and easy-to-make soup! I usually make changes to the recipe based on previous reviews or what I think might be better, but this one is wonderful just the way it is. We all loved it. Even my 4-year-old gobbled it up, and I was afraid he wouldn't like the spicy vegetable juice in it. He does like salsa, though, so if your young one really doesn't like spicy foods you could easily use regular vegetable juice instead. Unlike some previous reviewers, we didn't find the soup bland at all (and we like lots of flavor)...maybe because I used Better Than Bouillon brand Beef Base (comes in a jar) and then plenty of salt and pepper at the end. Thanks for a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
What a healthy soup! I used ground venison and 99% fat free beef broth. Wonderful flavor and so many vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This is basically the same as the way I make vegetable and beef soup. Using the vegetable juice was recommended to me by a nutritionist years ago. You can use any combination of veggies that you want, cover it with the juice and you have a great soup. I usually use frozen mixed veggies, add potatoes, onions, garlic, sometimes cans of black eyed peas, white acre field peas, butter beans, or just about anything you might have in the pantry. I generally just cook up some ground beef, or some chicken to add to it. Season it the way you like it. Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States