Alphabet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made this without the beef, and used regular vegetable juice. The kids loved it, and my husband also thought it was yummy. I now have a VAT of it in my freezer, so hoping it freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was so easy to make and it has a great flavor. I had a larget bag of mixed vegetables (for soup) so I just added the whole thing. I think it was about 28 ounces. I also used homemade tiny meatballs in place of the ground round. It made a huge amount, but I don't think we will have any trouble finishing it. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This recipe was easy, yummy and it's always fun to eat Alphabet Soup!! I decreased the TOTAL amount of water to 6 cups (instead of 9) I also added 2 extra bouillon cubes to the simmering soup (for a total of 5 cubes). I added a full tsp of salt and a full tsp of pepper. I also added 1/2 tsp of onion powder. I allowed this soup to simmer a full hour to increase the flavor- many people said this recipe was bland, but my husband and I disagree and thought it was delicious!!! A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Do yourself a favor and make this soup! I was surprised at how good it was for such a simple soup. I did increase the bouillon a little and decrease the water to 6 cups total. I've made large batches and frozen the extra, then when I defrost it I add the pasta when I reheat it. I also added some italian seasoning and garlic powder. But with a few modifications, this soup is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
The only change I made was to reduce the water by 2 cups. It made for a thick, hearty flavorful soup that everyone in my family enjoyed! My younger daughter and I kept the "secret" ingredient (spicy V8) a secret... or my older daughter would never try something with a "hot and spicy" ingredient. She was fooled and loved it. It made a great dinner, next day lunches for the kids, and plenty to freeze for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was a very good and easy soup. I really liked the kick the spicy V8 added. My older son never eats veggies, he ate everything in his bowl! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY5473

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grandview, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was basic and I added some herbs in the end but it was a ton of fun, brought back great memories from when I was a kid and thought life couldn't get any better than Campbell's, and I have no complaints. Thanks for the wonderful trip down memory lane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Kids actually liked this a lot! I wasn't paying close enough attention to the recipe so ended up with this- 3 cans regular V8, 6 c water, 2 tubes beef boullion, 1lb. ground beef, and a half a bag frozen mix veggies w/corn, green beans, peas, and carrots. seasoning salt and Mrs. Dash. Served with a little grated parmesan cheese on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
After reading other reviews saying this was kind of bland I made a few modifications - I used 3 extra large beef bouillon cubes and just threw them in the soup without dissolving them at all and I cut the water to only 6 cups total, 9 cups seems excessive and I wonder if the original poster meant to take 3 of the 6 to dissolve the beef cubes? With the modifications, my family loved this soup including my 3 year old. A great winter time addition that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I thought this was good! ONly change I made was to add a can of kidney beans. My husband thinks it needed more flavor - maybe add tabasco next time. I overcooked the noodles - only needs 20 minutes max for simmer! Otherwise it was a good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States