Alphabet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made this without the beef, and used regular vegetable juice. The kids loved it, and my husband also thought it was yummy. I now have a VAT of it in my freezer, so hoping it freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was so easy to make and it has a great flavor. I had a larget bag of mixed vegetables (for soup) so I just added the whole thing. I think it was about 28 ounces. I also used homemade tiny meatballs in place of the ground round. It made a huge amount, but I don't think we will have any trouble finishing it. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This recipe was easy, yummy and it's always fun to eat Alphabet Soup!! I decreased the TOTAL amount of water to 6 cups (instead of 9) I also added 2 extra bouillon cubes to the simmering soup (for a total of 5 cubes). I added a full tsp of salt and a full tsp of pepper. I also added 1/2 tsp of onion powder. I allowed this soup to simmer a full hour to increase the flavor- many people said this recipe was bland, but my husband and I disagree and thought it was delicious!!! A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Do yourself a favor and make this soup! I was surprised at how good it was for such a simple soup. I did increase the bouillon a little and decrease the water to 6 cups total. I've made large batches and frozen the extra, then when I defrost it I add the pasta when I reheat it. I also added some italian seasoning and garlic powder. But with a few modifications, this soup is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
The only change I made was to reduce the water by 2 cups. It made for a thick, hearty flavorful soup that everyone in my family enjoyed! My younger daughter and I kept the "secret" ingredient (spicy V8) a secret... or my older daughter would never try something with a "hot and spicy" ingredient. She was fooled and loved it. It made a great dinner, next day lunches for the kids, and plenty to freeze for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was a very good and easy soup. I really liked the kick the spicy V8 added. My older son never eats veggies, he ate everything in his bowl! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY5473

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grandview, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was basic and I added some herbs in the end but it was a ton of fun, brought back great memories from when I was a kid and thought life couldn't get any better than Campbell's, and I have no complaints. Thanks for the wonderful trip down memory lane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Kids actually liked this a lot! I wasn't paying close enough attention to the recipe so ended up with this- 3 cans regular V8, 6 c water, 2 tubes beef boullion, 1lb. ground beef, and a half a bag frozen mix veggies w/corn, green beans, peas, and carrots. seasoning salt and Mrs. Dash. Served with a little grated parmesan cheese on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
After reading other reviews saying this was kind of bland I made a few modifications - I used 3 extra large beef bouillon cubes and just threw them in the soup without dissolving them at all and I cut the water to only 6 cups total, 9 cups seems excessive and I wonder if the original poster meant to take 3 of the 6 to dissolve the beef cubes? With the modifications, my family loved this soup including my 3 year old. A great winter time addition that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brecksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I thought this was good! ONly change I made was to add a can of kidney beans. My husband thinks it needed more flavor - maybe add tabasco next time. I overcooked the noodles - only needs 20 minutes max for simmer! Otherwise it was a good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States