Alphabet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
My whole family liked the soup even my really picky kids. I thought it was bland and needed some herbs. This was very easy to make and will be in our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This was really good! I don't love tomato soup but this one is a keeper. Cut the water down to 3 cups and used 4 teaspoons of beef stock powder. Added a can of small diced tomatoes, chopped celery and carrot. Also used about a cups of frozen chopped broccoli (I don't like the frozen veggie mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trumpet Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I LOVED THIS!! And I am a person that only likes Campbells! I made it with the regular V-8, only because I thought I picked up the spicy, and when I got home, oops.. :)...I wished I had had alphabet noodles...our stores don't carry it. :( So I put in quinoa, and it was very good! Still going to look for the alphabet though. Other than that, I followed the instructions to a T. I think the broth tasted just like Campbells Alphabet Soup! And I am VERY picky on my soups. Thank you for putting this recipe in! It sure is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I am particularly tired of people reviewing recipes in a negative manner when they have made so many changes to the original recipe that it doesn't even resemble the original If these people are so fussy perhaps they should submit their "new recipe" and see how they feel when someone changes EVERYTHING and then gives it one star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I have made this delicious soup for decades. The only changes I make are to use canned mixed vegetables instead of frozen, and I often use regular or low-sodium V-8 instead of the spicy as it is what I usually have on hand. Just a few dashes of Tabasco, and soup's on! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
i tried this recipe but I think I put to much water and not enough of the beef flavor and I used to much vegetable juice or water I think the next time I make this I well use less water I had plenty left over I sheard with my neighbor and freeze to big containers and still had some left over for lunch and ill use the v8 juice thanks for shearing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made this without the beef, and used regular vegetable juice. The kids loved it, and my husband also thought it was yummy. I now have a VAT of it in my freezer, so hoping it freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was so easy to make and it has a great flavor. I had a larget bag of mixed vegetables (for soup) so I just added the whole thing. I think it was about 28 ounces. I also used homemade tiny meatballs in place of the ground round. It made a huge amount, but I don't think we will have any trouble finishing it. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This recipe was easy, yummy and it's always fun to eat Alphabet Soup!! I decreased the TOTAL amount of water to 6 cups (instead of 9) I also added 2 extra bouillon cubes to the simmering soup (for a total of 5 cubes). I added a full tsp of salt and a full tsp of pepper. I also added 1/2 tsp of onion powder. I allowed this soup to simmer a full hour to increase the flavor- many people said this recipe was bland, but my husband and I disagree and thought it was delicious!!! A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Do yourself a favor and make this soup! I was surprised at how good it was for such a simple soup. I did increase the bouillon a little and decrease the water to 6 cups total. I've made large batches and frozen the extra, then when I defrost it I add the pasta when I reheat it. I also added some italian seasoning and garlic powder. But with a few modifications, this soup is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States