Alphabet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I used 6 boullion cubes(otherwise the tomato flavor is overpowering), added a can of mixed vegetables at the end instead of frozen veggies, and 10oz pasta instead of 8. It was too spicy for my 5 year old's liking; Next time I'm going to try it with regular V-8, but I'm definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
4 stars only because I tweaked it. The taste would be 5 star no matter what though. Instead of bouillon and the water, I used 4 cups low sodium beef broth and 2 cups of low sodium chicken broth. Also a couple of bay leaves,1 can of diced tomatoes and 3 yellow potatoes diced small. The only pasta I had was 1 cup of Orzo. Oh, and used a 24 oz. bag of mixed veggies. This soup is so easy and lends itself to tweaking to your own liking. I make a pot of soup each week in the winter. This one is going into my rotation. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I put in the bouillon cubes without dissolving them in water and adding 2 to 3 cans of Campbell's tomato soup. I also put in a bit of sugar to cut down on the salty/spicy factor as well as used cubed chuck roast instead of ground round. Using ground round just seems like blasphamy to me. This is such an easy recipe to make on a cold rainy night and so easy to keep on hand as a chuck roast can be defrosted easily if portioned and frozen right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
My whole family liked the soup even my really picky kids. I thought it was bland and needed some herbs. This was very easy to make and will be in our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This was really good! I don't love tomato soup but this one is a keeper. Cut the water down to 3 cups and used 4 teaspoons of beef stock powder. Added a can of small diced tomatoes, chopped celery and carrot. Also used about a cups of frozen chopped broccoli (I don't like the frozen veggie mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trumpet Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I LOVED THIS!! And I am a person that only likes Campbells! I made it with the regular V-8, only because I thought I picked up the spicy, and when I got home, oops.. :)...I wished I had had alphabet noodles...our stores don't carry it. :( So I put in quinoa, and it was very good! Still going to look for the alphabet though. Other than that, I followed the instructions to a T. I think the broth tasted just like Campbells Alphabet Soup! And I am VERY picky on my soups. Thank you for putting this recipe in! It sure is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I am particularly tired of people reviewing recipes in a negative manner when they have made so many changes to the original recipe that it doesn't even resemble the original If these people are so fussy perhaps they should submit their "new recipe" and see how they feel when someone changes EVERYTHING and then gives it one star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I have made this delicious soup for decades. The only changes I make are to use canned mixed vegetables instead of frozen, and I often use regular or low-sodium V-8 instead of the spicy as it is what I usually have on hand. Just a few dashes of Tabasco, and soup's on! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
i tried this recipe but I think I put to much water and not enough of the beef flavor and I used to much vegetable juice or water I think the next time I make this I well use less water I had plenty left over I sheard with my neighbor and freeze to big containers and still had some left over for lunch and ill use the v8 juice thanks for shearing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States