Aloo Matar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Great! I cooked this with some fish and baked it for an hour, and also served with sweet potatoes instead of rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
My boyfriend grew up in India so I'm always trying to make him his favorite Indian dishes, although I have trouble with alot of them. I thought I'd try this recipe because it's pretty simple, and it was a hit with him! He said it tasted wonderful! I did make a few small changes. I only used one onion, only 1/2 tsp paprika, and only 1 TBS cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
The potatoes should have been par boiled before adding to the mixture as it took me over an hour to have cooked the mixture before the potatoes became soft enough to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Not bad at all! I wasn't certain what was meant by "tomato puree" so I used an 8 0z can of tomato sauce w/ a tablespoon of tomato paste. I also put in an extra 3 cloves of crushed garlic in w/ the tomato mixture. Overall it was very good, but doesn't have that deep flavor that many dishes in the restaurants have- I haven't been able to mimic that yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Not spicy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Great side dish! I hate peas I successfully used frozen lima beans, also used greenbeans before. I added a dash of curry and had to make the garam marsala from the mixture another reviewer suggested. I've also tried it with and without sugar, both good! My wok doesn't have a top and it wasn't cooking so I laid flat a piece of foil on top-cooked perfectly, and surprisingly quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I was pretty excited about making this recipe, but it ended up a semi-disaster. I'm not totally experienced with cooking with potatoes, so it might be my fault that I couldn't get my potatoes to cook in the wok. I ended up having to dump them into a microwave-safe bowl and nuke them until they were tender enough to finish cooking in the wok. I added extra seasoning as well. Maybe it was my inexperience with potato recipes, but this was very time consuming. I made this for a lunch with my then boyfriend, and he spent about an hour and a half in my living room watching Scrubs while I cursed at potatoes. Might make this again, but I'll partially cook the potatoes before adding them to the wok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This recipe is easy and delicious. I usually don't add the cilantro and often double the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I tripled or quadrupled the spices at least otherwise this just tasted like tomatoes. After simmering for a while this tasted like an authentic indian dish. We scooped it up with naan bead and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This tasted pretty good at first, but quickly got old. It's essential to partly cook the potatoes first. Through doing this there's no need to add extra tomato puree, as this just made the meal too soupy. With those couple of changes I think this would make an average side dish, but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States