Aloo Matar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Very good, made more sauce though, it was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
My daughter really enjoyed this. I followed the recipe exactly but next time I may sub tomato sauce for the puree as it was a little dry. Thankyou Vaijayanti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
no need to boil potatoes beforehand. just do the same thing, but in a pressure cooker. it will cook faster, 15-20 mins. add all ingredients in same order....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Followed the recipe and it turned out better than I thought. Real Indian smells and flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I omitted the oil, sugar and salt, used fresh ginger instead of ginger garlic paste, and used tomato sauce instead of puree. This has great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Easy and tasty with a few minor modifications. I used 1 C of tomato puree & nearly doubled the seasonings. I also used far less oil--about 2 tablespoons rather than 1/4 cup to reduce the amount of saturated fat. When the potatoes started to stick, I just added a bit of water to help them steam. I do like my aloo mattar on the "soupy" side, and this recipe was quite thick even with the additional tomato puree. That said, this dish is delicious served with naan or roti and a little tamarind chutney. Even my picky boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolisouci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Capron, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I would give this 5 stars but it was way too frustrating to see my peas melting and having raw potatoes on a skillet. I tried cooking them for 4 minutes on the microwave before I did anything, but I ended up cooking the potatoes at the very end for 2 more minutes in the microwave because they were still raw (and fishing them out of the concoction wasn't easy!). I also added the whole small can of tomato puree and it made it less dry. This dish has an excellent flavor. Next time I will def cook the potatoes beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I followed others suggestions and used 1.5 TBS garam masala and substituted diced tomatoes for tomato paste. I also boiled the potatoes before sauteing them. It came out really tasty! In the future, I might add some dried chili pepper to give it more kick. It was flavorful with extra garam masala, but not spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Super easy to make, cheap and delicious. There wasn't enough liquid, so added a can of tomato juice (12-oz for a double batch) and extra sugar (to taste) to balance out the acidity. I found it necessary to follow the recommendation for additional extra garam masala, though it probably depends on what brand you're using. I will make this again soon, but will boil or pressure cook the potatoes separately. While this adds some steps (and another pot to clean), it will allow me to cut down on the amount of oil I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Moraga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Added hot Indian Chilli Powder to taste for spicy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAIA3441

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States