Aloo Matar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Very good, however, there was a little too much paprika for my taste. After cutting down on that, this is a very good way to make to Aloo Matar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
this recipe is easy and so tasty. i wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
I gave this recipe 5 stars because it was easy to make, tasted great, and best of all, it was the first Indian dish I have ever prepared. I didn't have a wok but found that using a large, non-stick pot worked well. I substituted sesame oil for the vegetable oil but used the same quantity. I used one medium onion (diced), two seemed like an awful lot. I used a cup of tomatoe puree and, next time, I'd probably add a 1 1/2 or 2 cups of peas instead of just one. The garlic/ginger paste is a little hard to find so I substituted a finely minced concoction of a few small cloves of fresh garlic and an equal quantity of fresh ginger. The spice Garam masala is now available from the spice company McCormick and is sold at large supermarkets in my area (Giant Food in No. VA). The amount of paprika specified was to my liking (but I'm a paprika fan). Give this dish a try, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Easy and tasty. A big hit with the gang at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This was so good! I really loved it, and it's really cheap and easy to boot. I also used a large pot rather than a wok and used 12 tablespoon each of grated ginger and crushed garlic rather than the ginger garlic paste. If you don't have garam masala on hand, don't buy it from the spice department of your grocery store - it's far too expensive that way. Go to a grocery store with a good natural foods section and buy it in bulk. I bought more of it in bulk for $2.00 than you can get for $7.00 in the bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
This dish is excellent. My only modifications were a doubling of the tomato puree (to make one cup) and adding more peas, b/c I love peas. I was happy with the spice combinations. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
I cut down the ingredients, but not the spices, since I was just making it for me and figured I could handle the spices...big mistake, there was WAY too much salt. I think it's got potential though, so I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
This is a great dish; the recipe is easy to make and the ingredients are easy to obtain. I'd hate for someone not to try this recipe because they can't find "ginger garlic paste." It is really easy to make -- its just equal parts ginger and garlic. Peel, mince, and smash! Next time I make this I'm going to try adding some heat: cumin, tumeric, and some type of chillies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States