Aloo Matar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Oh yum! This recipe was easy & delicious. I used my new pressure cooker for the very first time to make this recipe tonight & it was done in a jiffy - 8min after reaching proper pressure. I did saute the onions in the oil along w/ freshly grated ginger & garlic (I didn't have any ginger garlic paste) and the bay leaf before adding the remaining ingredients & sealing the pressure cooker, but I think I may skip the extra step next time & just throw it all in together. I also didn't wait to add the pureed tomato & remaining spices; I just added them with the potatoes & peas just before sealing the cooker. I was short one potato, so I added a sweet potato in its place and it was great (if you do that, I suggest omitting the sugar). I also added a bit of cumin, turmeric, and mustard seed and a dash of red chili powder. Instead of plain salt, I added hibiscus salt (I bought it on a whim and had yet to really put it to use). I also added a can of coconut milk and about a tbs of butter. I know that's a lot of changes, but it seemed like this recipe would be very forgiving. All and all, we were extremely happy with the results. Next time, I may increase the peas to 1 1/2c, but otherwise, I thought the ratios were perfect. I served this with rice, buttered soft pita, and a simple raita made with about 1/2c lowfat plain yogurt, a dash each of salt, garlic powder, and cumin, 1/2 of a peeled and pureed cucumber and about 1tsp pureed tomato. Thank you for a great recipe! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was yummy. I made it to use up some ingredients I had gotten for other recipes. I think it could use 2 full teaspoons of the garam masala. Also, my potatoes got overcooked and mushy, so the cook time may need to be decreased a little. This is good with rice mixed in with it. I served this with white rice on the side, as well as cucumber slices drizzled with Cilantro-Mint Raita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
lovely recipe i just ate it on it's own.i followed the recipe exactly.however i did par boil the potatoes first and used some chilli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This was great! I couldn't find garam masala (or most of the components) in my grocery, so I used a mix of curry powder, ginger, cinnamon, and a little pepper, and still got a great dinner (plus great leftovers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
The blend of spices was pretty good. This needs much longer to cook the potatoes unless you chop them very fine. Be sure you only use the amount of potatoes in the recipe. Otherwise you have almost no sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Very good. Didn't have frozen peas so I used two cans and added them last so they didn't get too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Wow. So good! Pretty easy - simple ingredients that make a fantastic meal! Read other reviews and used an entire bag of peas. I also added more tomatoes - a can of tomato sauce. I didn't add salt or sugar, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This has the perfect combination of sweet, salty, and spicy. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Great! I cooked this with some fish and baked it for an hour, and also served with sweet potatoes instead of rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States